About AVS > Governance & Roster > Awards Committee > Rachael L. Myers-Ward

Awards Committee

Trustee (2024-2026)

Rachael L. Myers-Ward

US Naval Research Lab
E-mail: rachael_myers-ward @ avs.org

RACHAEL L. MYERS-WARD is an Electrical Engineer in the High Power Electronics Branch/ Wide and Ultrawide Bandgap Materials Section at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory. She received her Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 2006 and B.S. and M.S. degrees in chemical engineering in 2001 and 2003, respectively, from the University of South Florida.

Her research interests include epitaxial growth of SiC via chemical vapor deposition for high power/high voltage device and quantum science applications, methods to reduce extended and point defects in SiC epitaxial layers, and synthesis of epitaxial graphene for sensor applications. Her expertise in these fields has led to over 150 publications, one book chapter, and 14 patents.

Rachael has been involved in several program committees outside AVS, having served on the 2011 technical program committee for the International Conference on Silicon Carbide and Related Materials, co-organized the Advanced Materials for Power Electronics, Power Conditioning and Power Conversion symposia at the 2013 -2015 TMS Annual Meetings, and was a member of the organizing committee for Fall MRS 2017, 2018 and 2020.

She has been a member of the Electronic Materials and Photonics Division (EMPD) at AVS since 2014 where she served on the 2014 to 2016 AVS EMPD Executive Committee and was Program Chair in 2018. In 2018, she was recognized as a Future Star of AVS, was on the Board of Directors in 2019-2020, has been the Constitution and By-laws Chair under the Governance Committee since 2020 and on the Honorary Member Nominations Committee in 2021.