Awards > National Student Awards > Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarship

Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarship


To recognize and encourage excellence in continuing graduate studies in the sciences and technologies of interest to AVS.


The nominee must be a registered graduate student in an accredited academic institution at the time when the applications are due. Applicants are normally expected not to graduate before the award selection. The award may be given to a particular individual only once. Following the Awards Committee Meeting in the Spring/Summer, the top eight (8) student nominees are notified and invited to present talks on their research to the Awards Committee in a virtual interview in late summer.  After the interview, the next two (2) best students of the eight (8) finalists will receive the Hoffman Scholarship. Criteria for selection of the awardee are excellence in research and academic record.

Nature of the Award

The award consists of a cash award, a certificate, and reimbursed travel support to attend the International Symposium.

Establishment and Support

This award was established in 2002. They are funded by a bequest from Dorothy M. Hoffman who was President of AVS in 1974 and held many other positions of responsibility in the Society. She was very committed to education and training of students in the topics of interest to AVS members.

Quick Links

Start Nominations


2023 - Lidia Kuo, Northwestern University
2023 - Yixin Xiao, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

2022 - Kiyoung Jo, University of Pennsylvania
2022 - Xiao Zhao, University of California, Berkeley

2021 - Marie Turano, Loyola University Chicago
2021 - Chenghao Wan, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2020 - Christopher Brewer, University of Florida
2020 - Ryan Gasvoda, Colorado School of Mines

2019 - Ross Edel, University of Chicago
2019 - Koichi Tanaka, UCLA

2018 - Angela Hanna, (Colorado State University)
2018 - Phuong Anh Nguyen, (University of New Mexico)

2017 - Michael G. Stanford, (University of Tennessee)
2017 - Mackenzie Williams, (University of Delaware)

2016 - Hyosun Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
2016 - Kasra Sardashti, (University of California, San Diego)

2015 - Wei Bao, (University of California)
2015 - Antonio R. Bighetti Mei, (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

2014 - Priya Raman, (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
2014 - Yingjie Zhang, (University of California, Berkeley)

2013 - Tevis Jacobs, (University of Pennsylvania)
2013 - Vincent Sauer, (University of Alberta)

2012 - Afsoon Soudin, (Washington State University)
2012 - Ting Ying Chung, (University of California, Berkeley)

2011 - Justice Alaboson, (Northwestern University)
2011 - Joseph E. Baio, (University of Washington, Seattle)

2010 - Cary Pint, (Rice University)
2010 - Heather Tierney, (Tufts University)

2009 - Engang Fu, (Texas A&M University)
2009 - Jian Shen, (University of California, San Diego)

2008 - Ajay Karakoti, (University of Central Florida)
2008 - Fung Suong Ou, (Rice University)

2007 - Suresh Donthu, (Northwestern University)
2007 - Jianguo Fan, (University of Georgia)

2006 - Danqin Feng, (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
2006 - Kiu Yuen Tse, (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

2005 - Nathan Guisinger, (Northwestern University)
2005 - Brent Trenhaile, (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
2005 - Mayur Valipa, (University of California, Santa Barbara)

2004 - Jason Baxter, (University of California, Santa Barbara)
2004 - Sergio Mendez, (University of New Mexico)

2003 - Gerald Thaler, (University of Florida, Gainesville)
2003 - David G. Xu, (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)