Awards > National Student Awards > Russell & Sigurd Varian Award

Russell & Sigurd Varian Award



To recognize and encourage excellence in continuing graduate studies in the sciences and technologies of interest to AVS.


The nominee must be a registered graduate student in an accredited academic institution at the time when the applications are due. Applicants are normally expected not to graduate before the award selection. The award may be given to a particular individual only once. Following the Awards Committee Meeting in the Spring/Summer, the top eight (8) student nominees are notified and invited to present talks on their research to the Awards Committee in a virtual interview in late summer.   After the interview, one of the top three (3) students of the eight (8) finalists will receive the Varian Award. The finalists not selected will receive either the Hoffman Award, Whetten Award, or Dorothy M or Earl S. Hoffman Scholarships. Criteria for selection of the awardee are excellence in research and academic record.

Nature of the Award

The award consists of a cash award, a certificate, and reimbursed travel support to attend the International Symposium.

Establishment and Support

This award was established in 1982 to commemorate the pioneering work of Russell and Sigurd Varian in the field of vacuum science and technology. The award is supported by Agilent Technologies, which acquired Varian, Inc., in 2010.

Quick Links

Start Nomination


2023 - Asir Intisar Khan, Stanford University

2022 - Tzu-Ling Liu, Stanford University

2021 - Sayantan Mahapatra, University of Illinois at Chicago

2020 - Ryan Hannagan, Tufts University

2019 - Dipna Patel, Tufts University

2018 - William DeBenedetti, Cornell University

2017 - Tania E. Sandoval, Stanford University

2016 - Thomas Winkler, University of Maryland, College Park

2015 - Andrada-Oana Mandru, Ohio University

2014 - Deep Jariwala, Northwestern University

2013 - Jason Kawasaki, University of California, Santa Barbara

2012 - April Jewell, Tufts University

2011 - David A. Siegel, University of California, Berkeley

2010 - Christine Tan, Cornell University

2009 - Sudhakar Shet, New Jersey Institute of Technology/NREL

2008 - Erik Wallen, Linkoping University

2007 - H. Lee Mosbacker, Ohio State University

2006 - Gregory Ten Eyck, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

2005 - Liam Pingree, Northwestern University

2004 - Vassil Antonov, Univ. Illinois Urbana-Champaign

2003 - John R. Kitchin, University of Delaware

2002 - Wei Tan, University of Illinois

2001 - Jianwei Dong, University of Minnesota

2000 - Michelle L. Steen, Colorado State University

1999 - Sanjit Singh Dang, Univ. of Illinois, Chicago

1998 - John S. Lewis, III, University of Florida

1997 - Kimberly S. Turner, Cornell University

1996 - Kevin Robbie, University of Alberta

1995 - Robert Carpick, Univ. of California, Berkeley

1994 - Britt Turkot, University of Illinois

1993 - Daniel Kelly, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara

1992 - Rex Ramsier, University of Pittsburgh

1991 - Michael Flatte, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara

1990 - Guangquan Lu, Univ. of California, San Diego

1989 - Brian S. Swartzentruber, Univ. of Wisconsin

1988 - Christopher E. Aumann, Univ. of Wisconsin

1987 - Joanne R. Levine, Northwestern University

1986 - Jingguang G. Chen, University of Pittsburgh

1985 - Anne L. Testoni, Northwestern University

1984 - Kenneth T.Y. Kung, MIT

1983 - J.S. Villaruba, Cornell University