*The AVS membership and exhibitor lists are posted on this site for the personal, non-commercial use of AVS members. These lists are proprietary property of AVS and may not, in whole or part, be reproduced, copied, disseminated, entered into a computer database, used as part of or in connection with a mailing list, or otherwise utilized, in any form or manner by any means without the prior written consent of AVS.

Officers of the Society

President Michael D. Williams
President Elect David P. Adams
Immediate Past-President Timothy A. Gessert
Clerk/Secretary David Surman
Treasurer Gregory J. Exarhos

Directors

Director in 2023- 2024 Ashleigh E. Baber
Director in 2023- 2024 Erica A. Douglas
Director in 2022- 2023 Mark Engelhard
Director in 2023 Robert K. Grubbs
Director in 2022- 2023 Jessica L. Hilton
Director in 2023- 2024 R. Mohan Sankaran

Awards Committee

Trustee 2023 - 2025 Donna Chen
Trustee 2022 - 2024         Sidney Cohen
Trustee 2022 - 2024 Alberto Herrera-Gomez
Trustee 2023 - 2025 Sean L. Jones
Trustee 2021 - 2023 Bruce D. Kay
Trustee 2021 - 2023 Sally L. McArthur

AVS National Office Staff

125 Maiden Lane, 15B
15th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-248-0200
Fax: 212-248-0245

The AVS National Office (NY) relocated in September 1993, from rented space in the American Institute of Physics (AIP) building on East 45th Street in New York, New York to leased space on the 32nd floor of 120 Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. In 2007, AVS purchased space on the 15th floor of 125 Maiden Lane, just a couple of blocks from the Wall Street location. The AVS office moved into this space in July 2008. This office serves as the Society Headquarters and there are 7 full-time staff members at this location. There is a variety of services performed from this location, such as membership management, financial operations (accounts payable/receivable), and website management.

Chief Operating Officer Yvonne Towse
Exhibition & Sales Manager Jeannette DeGennaro
Financial Administrator Peter Burke
IT Systems/Web Administrator Keith Mitchell
Member Services Administrator Angela Klink
Web Content Coordinator Teddy Bhabikhan
Office Services Coordinator Ricky Baldeo

AVS West Office Staff
110 Yellowstone Drive, Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973
Tel: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487

The West Coast Office is located in Chico, California (CA). It was developed in 1999 for the purpose of developing the AVS Newsletter, short course brochures, managing the annual AVS ICMI (Spring) Conference (which began in 1999), and handling all Society publicity and marketing activities, which were responsibilities previously handled by a vendor. In addition, all event planning functions are now performed at this location.
 
Marketing Communications & Events Manager Della Miller                                      
Marketing Communications & Events Coordinator Heather Korff


AVS Publications Office Staff
51 Kilmayne Drive, Suite 201
Cary, NC 27511
Phone: 919-361-2787

The Publications Office is located in Cary, North Carolina (NC). The office handles the manuscript submission and refereeing process for our journals, the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology A & B (JVST), Surface Science Spectra (SSS), Biointerphases, and AVS Quantum Science. There are currently 6 staff members at this location.
 
Managing Editor Rachel Bayne    
Editorial Assistant Amanda Hall
Editorial Coordinator Lindsey Lucas
BiP Editorial Assistant Jennifer Schreiner
Editorial Assistant Tonya Yandle

Back to Top

Standing Committees

Awards (AW) -- Sally L. McArthur sally_mcarthur @  avs.org
Chapters, Divisions, and Groups (C,D,G) (includes Student Chapters)  
Chapters (Co-Chairs) 
-- Kateryna Artyushkova
-- Katherine Burzynski

kateryna_artyushkova @ avs.org
katherine_burzynski @ avs.org
Divisions & Groups (Co-Chairs)
-- 
Ashleigh Baber
-- Daniel Killelea

ashleigh_baber @ avs.org
dan_killelea @ avs.org
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) -- Erica Douglas erica_douglas @ avs.org
DEI (Vice-Chair) -- Rachael Farber rachael_farber @ avs.org
Education (ED) -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
♦Educational Materials and Outreach -- Svitlana Pylypenko svitlana_pylypenko  @  avs.org
♦Short Courses -- Dave Adams david_adams  @  avs.org
♦History -- Neil Peacock neil_peacock  @  avs.org
Finance (FI) -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Audit -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Investment Advisory -- Dave Surman dave_surman  @  avs.org
♦Compensation -- Michael D. Williams michael_williams  @  avs.org
Governance (GV) -- Michael D. Williams michael_williams  @  avs.org
♦Constitution and By-laws -- Rachael Myers-Ward rachael_myers-ward  @  avs.org
♦Outreach/Governance/Public -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦Outreach/Governance/Public -- (Vice-Chair) -- John Lannon john_lannon @ avs.org
♦International Interactions -- Lisa Porter lisa_porter  @  avs.org
♦Strategic Planning -- Scott Bryan scott_bryan @  avs.org
♦Strategic Planning -- (Vice-Chair) John Lannon john_lannon @  avs.org
Marketing and Communications (MC) -- Staff Function
♦Web
♦Buyer's Guide
                                                                                          
Membership (MM) -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦Professional Leadership -- Jessica Hilton jessica_hilton @ avs.org
♦Recognition for Excellence in Mentorship -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦Industrial Engagement -- Vincent Smentkowski  vin_smentkowski @ avs.org
♦Early Career Professionals -- Christopher Brewer christopher_brewer @ avs.org
Publications (PB) -- Chip Eddy chip_eddy @ avs.org
Recommended Practices (RP) -- Jacob Ricker jacob_ricker @ avs.org
Symposia & Conferences (S&C) -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph @ avs.org
♦Symposium Program --  Virginia “Ginger” Wheeler (2023 Chair) virginia_wheeler @ avs.org
-- Mark Engelhard (2023 Vice-Chair/2024 Chair) mark_engelhard @ avs.org
♦Exhibitors and Manufacturers (E&M) -- Staff Function  
♦Future Sites Team -- Staff Function  
♦Topical Conferences -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph @ avs.org
             ♦ ALD/ALE 2022
                -- Seán  Barry/Scott Clendenning (ALD Co-Chairs)
                -- Jane Chang/Thorsten Lill (ALE Co-Chairs)

sean_barry @ avs.org
scott_clendenning @ avs.org
jane_chang @ avs.org
thorsten_lill @ avs.org
             ♦ PacSurf 2024 -- TBD  
Back to Top

Division Chairs

Advanced Surface Engineering Division -- Steve Bull steve_bull @ avs.org
Applied Surface Science Division -- Alex Shard alex_shard @ avs.org
Biomaterial Interfaces Division -- Kenan Fears kenan_fears @ avs.org
Electronic Materials and Photonics Division -- Erica A. Douglas erica_douglas @ avs.org
Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division -- Hendrik Ohldag hendrik_ohldag @avs.org
Nanoscale Science and Technology Division -- Adina Luican-Mayer adina_luican-mayer @ avs.org
Plasma Science and Technology Division -- Mingmei Wang mingmei_wang @ avs.org
Surface Science Division -- Eric Altman eric_altman @ avs.org
Thin Film Division -- Christophe Vallee christophe_vallee @ avs.org
Vacuum Technology Division -- Giulia Lanza giulia_lanza @ avs.org


Back to Top


Group Chairs

2D Materials Technical Group -- Matthias Batzill matthias_batzill @ avs.org
Manufacturing Science and Technology Group -- Tina Kaarsberg tina_kaarsberg @ avs.org
MEMS and NEMS Technical Group -- Robert Davis robert_davis @ avs.org
Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical Group -- Tino Hofmann tino_hofmann @ avs.org


Back to Top


Chapter Chairs

Florida Chapter (3/31/23) -- Brent Gila brent_gila @ avs.org
Hudson Mohawk Chapter (12/31/23) -- Marco Hopstaken marco_hopstaken @ avs.org
Michigan Chapter (12/31/23) -- Sergey Baryshev sergey_baryshev @ avs.org
Mid-Atlantic States Chapter (12/31/23) -- Jennifer Hite jennifer_hite @ avs.org
Minnesota Chapter (12/31/23) -- Ali Rafati ali_rafati @ avs.org
New England Chapter (12/31/23) -- Necmi Biyikli necmi_biyikli @ avs.org
New Mexico Chapter (12/31/23) -- David Henry david_henry @ avs.org 
Northern California Chapter (12/31/23) -- Donley Henson donley_henson @ avs.org
Ohio Chapter (12/31/23) -- Katherine Burzynski katherine_burzynski @ avs.org
Pacific Northwest Chapter (12/31/23) -- Elton Graugnard elton_graugnard @ avs.org
Prairie Chapter (12/31/23) -- Mary Kraft mary_kraft @ avs.org
Rocky Mountain Chapter (12/31/23) -- Steve Harvey  steve_harvey @ avs.org
Southern California Chapter (12/31/23) -- Anna Corinne D'Ambrosio corinne_dambrosio @ avs.org
Tennessee Valley Chapter (12/31/23) -- Petro Maksymovych petro_maksymovych @ avs.org
Texas Chapter (12/31/23) -- Manuel Quevedo manuel_quevedo @ avs.org
Western Pennsylvania Chapter (12/31/23) -- Evan Sawyer evan_sawyer @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Chapter

Taiwan AVS -- Jyh-Wei Lee                 jyh-wei_lee @ avs.org
St. Lawrence AVS -- Ludvik Martinu ludvik_martinu @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Affiliate

Israel Vacuum Society -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science -- Yasunori Tanimoto yasunori_tanimoto @ avs.org
Korean Vacuum Society -- Yongmin Kim yongmin_kim @ avs.org
Mexican Society for Science and Technology of Surfaces and Materials -- Emmanuel Haro Poniatowski emmanuel_poniatowski @ avs.org
Polish Vacuum Society -- Leszek Markowski leszek_markowski @ avs.org
Sociedade Brasileira de Vácuo - Pedro A Nascente pedro_nascente @ avs.org
Sociedad Cubana de Física (Cuban Physical Society) -- María Sánchez Colina maria_sanchez-colina @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of Australia -- Anton Stampfl anton_stampfl @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of the Philippines -- Magdaleno R. Vasquez Jr.  magdaleno_vasquez @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Student University Chapter Chairs

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering -- Anthony Valenti anthony_valenti @ avs.org
Colorado School of Mines -- Jayson Foster jayson_foster @ avs.org
Northwestern University -- Alessandro Pereyra alessandro_pereyra @ avs.org
Southwest (inactive)  
University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa -- Roni Paul roni_paul @ avs.org
University of Central Florida -- Brian Ferrari brian_ferrari @ avs.org
University of Florida -- David Camero david_camero @ avs.org
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- Abigail Berg abigail_berg @ avs.org
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (inactive)  
University of Texas at El Paso (inactive)  
University of Washington (inactive)  
 

Back to Top


IUVSTA Appointees

Councilor -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos @ avs.org             
Alternate Councilor -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org 
ASED Representative -- Christopher Muratore christopher_muratore @ avs.org
ASSD Representative -- John T. Grant john_grant @ avs.org
BID Representative -- Sally M. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
EMPD Representative -- Lisa M. Porter lisa_porter @ avs.org
NSTD Representative -- Qing Tu qing_tu @ avs.org
PSTD Representative -- Hiroyuki Miyazoe hiroyuki_miyazoe @ avs.org
SSD Representative -- Petra Reinke petra_reinke @avs.org
TFD Representative -- Siamak Nejati siamak_nejati @ avs.org
VTD Representative -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Journal Editors

AVS & JVST Editor-in-Chief -- Eray Aydil eray_aydil @ avs.org
Biointerphases Editor-in-Chief -- Tobias Weidner tobias_weidner @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Fang Cheng fang_cheng @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Caitlin Howell caitlin_howell @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Jinn P. Chu  jinn_chu @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Erwin Kessels erwin_kessels @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Stephanie Law stephanie_law @avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Amy V. Walker amy_walker @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Joshua M.O. Zide joshua_zide @avs.org
SSS Editor-in-Chief -- Richard T. Haasch richard_haasch @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Daniel J. Graham dan_graham @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Nikolas Podraza nikolas_podraza @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Alex Shard alex_shard @ avs.org
AQS Editor-in-Chief -- Philippe Bouyer philippe_bouyer @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Vanderlei S. Bagnato vanderlei_bagnato @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Xuzong Chen xuzong_chen @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Yong Chen yong_chen @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Andrew Forbes andrew_forbes @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Ivette Fuentes ivette_fuentes @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Pieter Kok pieter_kok @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Leong-Chuan Kwek leong-chuan_kwek @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Isabelle Robert-Philip isabelle_robert-philip @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop halina_rubinsztein-dunlop @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS Designated Director on the AIP Board of Directors

Susan Burkett Term to Spring 2023 susan_burkett @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE TO AIP:

Alison A. Baski                             alison_baski @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AIP Special Committees (External)

Liaison Committee on Under-Represented Minorities -  Erica A. Douglas - '23 erica_douglas @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Physics Education - Tom Christensen - '25 tom_christensen @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Public Policy – Daniel Gaspar – ‘23 daniel_gaspar @avs.org
Liaison Committee on History – Neil Peacock – ‘23 neil_peacock @avs.org
Publishing Board of Managers – Eray S. Aydil – ‘25 eray_aydil @ avs.org
Publishing Partnerships Committee – Rachel Bayne, Yvonne Towse – ‘23 rachel @ avs.org
yvonne @ avs.org
Federation Assembly – Yvonne Towse, Amy Walker – ‘23 yvonne @ avs.org
amy_walker @ avs.org
 

Back to Top