*The AVS membership and exhibitor lists are posted on this site for the personal, non-commercial use of AVS members. These lists are proprietary property of AVS and may not, in whole or part, be reproduced, copied, disseminated, entered into a computer database, used as part of or in connection with a mailing list, or otherwise utilized, in any form or manner by any means without the prior written consent of AVS.

Officers of the Society

President Amy V. Walker
President Elect Susan Burkett
Immediate Past-President Peter Sheldon
Clerk/Secretary Joseph E. Greene
Treasurer Gregory J. Exarhos

Directors

Director in 2020- 2021           David Adams
Director in 2019- 2020 Don Baer
Director in 2020- 2021 Mariadriana Creatore
Director in 2019-2020 Sally L. McArthur
Director in 2020- 2021 Rachael Myers-Ward
Director in 2019- 2020 Patricia A. Thiel

Awards Committee

Trustee 2019 - 2021          Alison Baski
Trustee 2018 - 2020 Anna Belu
Trustee 2020 - 2022 James Fitz-Gerald
Trustee 2020 - 2022 Lara Gamble
Trustee 2018 - 2020 Timothy A. Gessert
Trustee 2019 - 2021 Bridget R. Rogers

AVS National Office Staff

125 Maiden Lane, 15B
15th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-248-0200
Fax: 212-248-0245

The AVS National Office (NY) relocated in September 1993, from rented space in the American Institute of Physics (AIP) building on East 45th Street in New York, New York to leased space on the 32nd floor of 120 Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. In 2007, AVS purchased space on the 15th floor of 125 Maiden Lane, just a couple of blocks from the Wall Street location. The AVS office moved into this space in July 2008. This office serves as the Society Headquarters and there are 7 full-time staff members at this location. There is a variety of services performed from this location, such as membership management, financial operations (accounts payable/receivable), and website management.

Managing Director Yvonne Towse
Exhibition & Sales Manager Jeannette DeGennaro
Financial Administrator Peter Burke
IT Systems/Web Administrator Keith Mitchell
Member Services Administrator Angela Klink
Web Content Coordinator Teddy Bhabikhan
Office Services Coordinator Ricky Baldeo

AVS West Office Staff

110 Yellowstone Drive, Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973
Tel: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487

The West Coast Office is located in Chico, California (CA). It was developed in 1999 for the purpose of developing the AVS Newsletter, short course brochures, managing the annual AVS ICMI (Spring) Conference (which began in 1999), and handling all Society publicity and marketing activities, which were responsibilities previously handled by a vendor. In addition, all event planning functions are now performed at this location.
Marketing Communications & Events Manager Della Miller                                      
Marketing Communications & Events Coordinator Heather Korff
Marketing Communications & Events Assistant Abby Rizzo


AVS Publications Office Staff

51 Kilmayne Drive, Suite 104
Cary, NC 27511
Phone: 919-361-2728


The Publications Office is located in Cary, North Carolina (NC). The office handles the manuscript submission and refereeing process for our journals, the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology A & B (JVST), Surface Science Spectra (SSS), Biointerphases, and AVS Quantum Science. There are currently 5 staff members at this location.
Publications Office Manager Nancy Schultheis    
Editorial Coordinator Rachel Bayne
Editorial Assistant April Power
Editorial Assistant Jennifer Schreiner
Editorial Assistant Tonya Yandle

Back to Top

Standing Committees

Awards (AW) -- Anna Belu anna_belu  @  avs.org
Chapters, Divisions, and Groups (C,D,G) -- Vincent Smentkowski vincent_smentkowski  @  avs.org                               
Chapters (Co-Chair) kateryna_artyushkova @ avs.org
Divisions & Groups Chair michael_filler @ avs.org                                             
Education (ED) -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
♦Educational Materials and Outreach -- Svitlana Pylypenko svitlana_pylypenko  @  avs.org                                 
♦Short Courses -- Dave Adams dave_adams  @  avs.org
♦History -- Neil Peacock neil_peacock  @  avs.org
Finance (FI) -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Audit -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Investment Advisory -- Christie R.K. Marrian christie_marrian  @  avs.org
♦Compensation -- Amy V. Walker amy_walker @ avs.org
Governance (GV) -- Michael Williams michael_williams  @  avs.org
♦Constitution and By-laws -- Rachael Myers-Ward rachael_myers-ward  @  avs.org
♦Outreach/Governance/Public -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦International Interactions -- Lisa Porter lisa_porter  @  avs.org
♦Strategic Planning -- Scott Bryan scott_bryan @  avs.org
Marketing and Communications (MC) -- Staff Function
♦Web
♦Buyer's Guide
                                                                                          
Membership (MM) David Surman; Vice-Chair: Pete Sheldon dave_surman @ avs.org; peter_sheldon @ avs.org
♦Professional Leadership -- Bridget Rogers bridget_rogers @ avs.org
            ♦Recognition for Excellence in Mentorship -- Nathan Havercroft  nathan_havercroft @ avs.org
            ♦Industrial Engagement -- David Surman  dave_surman @ avs.org
            ♦Diversity & Inclusion -- Talat Rahman / Sean Jones talat_rahman @ avs.org; sean_jones @ avs.org
            ♦Early Career Professionals -- Rachael Farber
                                                           -- Ashley Ellsworth
                                                           -- Ann Lii-Rosales
rachael_farber @ avs.org
ashley_ellsworth @ avs.org
ann_lii-rosales @ avs.org 
Publications (PB) -- Chip Eddy chip_eddy @ avs.org
Recommended Practices (RP) -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
                                                    -- James Fedchak (Co-Chair) james_fedchak @ avs.org
Symposia & Conferences (S&C) -- James M. Fitz-Gerald james_fitz-gerald  @  avs.org
                                                        -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph  @  avs.org
♦Symposium Program -- Daniel Killelea (2020 Chair) dan_killelea @ avs.org
-- Mohan Sankaran (2020 Vice-Chair / 2021 Chair) mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
♦Exhibitors and Manufacturers (E&M) -- Staff Function  
♦Future Sites Team -- Staff Function  
♦Topical Conferences -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph  @  avs.org
             ♦ PacSurf 2020 -- Ellen Fisher (Program Chair)
                                       -- David Castner (General Chair)                                    
ellen_fisher  @  avs.org
david_castner @ avs.org
♦ ALD/ALE 2020 -- Christophe Detavernier (ALD Chair)
                 -- Jolien Dendooven / Paul Poodt (ALD Co-Chairs)
                 -- Erwin Kessels (ALE Chair) 
                 -- Harm Knoops/Jean-Francois de Marneffe (ALE Co-Chairs)
christophe_detavernier @ avs.org
jolien_dendooven  @  avs.org 
paul_poodt @ avs.org
erwin_kessels @ avs.org
harm_knoops  @  avs.org
jean-francois_marneffe @ avs.org
Back to Top

Division Chairs

Advanced Surface Engineering Division -- Paul Mayrhofer paul_mayrhofer @ avs.org                                 
Applied Surface Science Division -- Carl A. Ventrice carl_ventrice @ avs.org
Biomaterial Interfaces Division -- Markus Valtiner markus_valtiner @ avs.org
Electronic Materials and Photonics Division -- Seth T. King seth_king @ avs.org
Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division -- Hendrik Ohldag hendrik_ohldag @avs.org
Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division -- Keith Brown keith_brown @ avs.org
Plasma Science and Technology Division -- Francois Reniers francois_reniers @ avs.org
Surface Science Division -- Petra Reinke petra_reinke @ avs.org
Thin Film Division -- Virginia Wheeler virginia_wheeler @ avs.org
Vacuum Technology Division -- Jason Carter jason_carter @ avs.org



Back to Top


Group Chairs

Manufacturing Science and Technology Group -- Bridget R. Rogers bridget_rogers @ avs.org                                   
MEMS and NEMS Technical Group -- Christian Zorman christian_zorman @ avs.org



Back to Top


Chapter Chairs

Florida Chapter (3/31/20) -- Mihai Vaida mihai_vaida @ avs.org                                        
Hudson Mohawk Chapter (12/31/20) -- Marco Hopstaken marco_hopstaken @ avs.org
Michigan Chapter (9/01/20) -- Pilar Herrera-Fierro (contact) pilar_herrera-fierrol @ avs.org
Mid-Atlantic States Chapter (12/31/20) -- Sujitra Pookpanratana sujitra_pookpanratana @ avs.org
Minnesota Chapter (12/31/20) -- Seth T. King seth_king @ avs.org
New England Chapter (12/31/20) -- Bill Trotter, Jr. bill_trotter @ avs.org
New Mexico Chapter (12/31/20) -- Darin Leonhardt darin_leonhardt @ avs.org 
Northern California Chapter (12/31/20) -- Zoran Misetic zoran_misetic @ avs.org
Ohio Chapter (12/31/20) -- Chris Muratore christopher_muratore @ avs.org
Pacific Northwest Chapter (12/31/20) -- Zihua Zhu david_zhu @ avs.org
Prairie Chapter (12/31/20) -- Jeff Terry jeff_terry @ avs.org
Rocky Mountain Chapter (12/31/20) -- Steve Harvey  steve_harvey @ avs.org
Southern California Chapter (12/31/20) -- Anna Corinne D'Ambrosio corinne_dambrosio @ avs.org
Tennessee Valley Chapter (12/31/20) -- Petro Maksymovych petro_maksymovych @ avs.org
Texas Chapter (12/31/20) -- Wiley Kirk wiley_kirk @ avs.org
Western Pennsylvania Chapter (12/31/20) -- Joe DeMaio joe_demaio @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Chapter

Taiwan AVS -- Jinn P. Chu                 jinn_chu @ avs.org
St. Lawrence AVS -- Ludvik Martinu ludvik_martinu @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Affiliate

Cuban Physical Society -- María Sánchez Colina maria_sanchez-colina @ avs.org
Israel Vacuum Society -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Korean Vacuum Society -- Guen Young Yeom geun_yeom @ avs.org
Polish Vacuum Society -- Leszek Markowski leszek_markowski @ avs.org
Sociedad Mexicana de Ciencia y Terconlogía de Superficies y Materiales -- Gregorio Hernandez-Cocoletzi  gregorio_hernandez-cocoletzi @ avs.org                                                      
Sociedade Brasileira de Vácuo - Pedro A Nascente pedro_nascente @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of the Philippines -- Magdaleno R. Vasquez Jr.  magdaleno_vasquez @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Student University Chapter Chairs

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering -- Jonathan Chandonait jonathan_chandonait @ avs.org
Colorado School of Mines -- Celeste Melamed celeste_melamed @ avs.org
Dallas Metroplex -- Tania Estrada tania_estrada @ avs.org
Northwestern University -- James Male james_male @ avs.org
Southwest (inactive)  
UCLA -- Aditya Deshpande aditya_deshpande @ avs.org
University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa -- Sourav Garg sourav_garg @ avs.org
University of Central Florida -- Brian Ferrari brian_ferrari @ avs.org
University of Florida -- Stefano Barba stefano_barba @ avs.org
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- Kinsey Canova kinsey_canova @ avs.org
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (inactive)  
University of Texas at El Paso (inactive)  
University of Washington (inactive)  
 

Back to Top


IUVSTA Appointees

Councilor -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos @ avs.org             
Alternate Councilor -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org 
ASED Representative -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org
ASSD Representative -- John T. Grant john_grant @ avs.org
BID Representative -- Sally M. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
EMPD Representative -- Lisa M. Porter lisa_porter @ avs.org
NSTD Representative -- Nancy A. Burnham nancy_burnham @ avs.org
PSTD Representative -- Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
SSD Representative -- Petra Reinke petra_reinke @avs.org
TFD Representative -- Siamak Nejati siamak_nejati @ avs.org
VTD Representative -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Journal Editors

AVS Editor-in-Chief -- Eray Aydil eray_aydil @ avs.org
Biointerphases Editor -- Sally L. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Tobias Weidner tobias_weidner @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Stefan Zauscher  stefan_zauscher @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Gary E. McGuire gary_mcguire @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Erwin Kessels erwin_kessels @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Stephanie Law stephanie_law @avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Joshua M.O. Zide joshua_zide @avs.org
SSS Senior Editor -- James Castle james_castle @ avs.org
SSS Editor -- Richard T. Haasch richard_haasch @ avs.org
AQS Editor -- Philippe Bouyer philippe_bouyer @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Yong Chen yong_chen @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Ivette Fuentes ivette_fuentes @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Pieter Kok pieter_kok @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop halina_rubinsztein-dunlop @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS Designated Director on the AIP Board of Directors

Susan Burkett Term to Spring 2022 susan_burkett @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE TO AIP:

Alison A. Baski                             alison_baski @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AIP Special Committees (External)

Liaison Committee on Under-Represented Minorities -  Talat Rahman - '20 talat_rahman @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Physics Education - Tom Christensen - '20 tom_christensen @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Public Policy – Daniel Gaspar – ‘20 daniel_gaspar @avs.org
Liaison Committee on History – Marcy Stutzman – ‘20 marcy_stutzman @avs.org
Publishing Board of Managers – Ivan G. Petrov* – ‘20 ivan_petrov @ avs.org
Publishing Partnerships Committee – Nancy Schultheis, Yvonne Towse – ‘20 nancy@avs.org                                                               
yvonne@avs.org
State Department Selection Committee – Rudy Ludeke – ‘21 rudy_ludeke @ avs.org
 

Back to Top