About AVS > Governance & Roster > Awards Committee
*The AVS membership and exhibitor lists are posted on this site for the personal, non-commercial use of AVS members. These lists are proprietary property of AVS and may not, in whole or part, be reproduced, copied, disseminated, entered into a computer database, used as part of or in connection with a mailing list, or otherwise utilized, in any form or manner by any means without the prior written consent of AVS.

Officers of the Society

President Timothy A. Gessert
President Elect Michael D. Williams
Immediate Past-President Susan Burkett
Clerk/Secretary David Surman
Treasurer Gregory J. Exarhos

Directors

Director in 2021- 2022 Kateryna Artyushkova
Director in 2022- 2023 Jane P. Chang
Director in 2022- 2023 Mark Engelhard
Director in 2022- 2023 Jessica L. Hilton
Director in 2021-2022 Dan Killelea
Director in 2021- 2022 Svitlana Pylypenko

Awards Committee

Trustee 2022 - 2024         Sidney Cohen
Trustee 2020 - 2022 James Fitz-Gerald
Trustee 2020 - 2022 Lara Gamble
Trustee 2022 - 2024 Alberto Herrera-Gomez
Trustee 2021 - 2023 Bruce D. Kay
Trustee 2021 - 2023 Sally L. McArthur

AVS National Office Staff

125 Maiden Lane, 15B
15th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-248-0200
Fax: 212-248-0245

The AVS National Office (NY) relocated in September 1993, from rented space in the American Institute of Physics (AIP) building on East 45th Street in New York, New York to leased space on the 32nd floor of 120 Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. In 2007, AVS purchased space on the 15th floor of 125 Maiden Lane, just a couple of blocks from the Wall Street location. The AVS office moved into this space in July 2008. This office serves as the Society Headquarters and there are 7 full-time staff members at this location. There is a variety of services performed from this location, such as membership management, financial operations (accounts payable/receivable), and website management.

Managing Director Yvonne Towse
Exhibition & Sales Manager Jeannette DeGennaro
Financial Administrator Peter Burke
IT Systems/Web Administrator Keith Mitchell
Member Services Administrator Angela Klink
Web Content Coordinator Teddy Bhabikhan
Office Services Coordinator Ricky Baldeo

AVS West Office Staff
110 Yellowstone Drive, Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973
Tel: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487

The West Coast Office is located in Chico, California (CA). It was developed in 1999 for the purpose of developing the AVS Newsletter, short course brochures, managing the annual AVS ICMI (Spring) Conference (which began in 1999), and handling all Society publicity and marketing activities, which were responsibilities previously handled by a vendor. In addition, all event planning functions are now performed at this location.
 
Marketing Communications & Events Manager Della Miller                                      
Marketing Communications & Events Coordinator Heather Korff
Marketing Communications & Events Assistant Abby Rizzo


AVS Publications Office Staff
51 Kilmayne Drive, Suite 201
Cary, NC 27511
Phone: 919-361-2787

The Publications Office is located in Cary, North Carolina (NC). The office handles the manuscript submission and refereeing process for our journals, the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology A & B (JVST), Surface Science Spectra (SSS), Biointerphases, and AVS Quantum Science. There are currently 6 staff members at this location.
 
Publications Office Manager Rachel Bayne    
Editorial Coordinator Lindsey Lucas
Editorial Assistant April Power
BiP Editorial Assistant Jennifer Schreiner
Editorial Assistant Tonya Yandle

Back to Top

Standing Committees

Awards (AW) -- Lara Gamble lara_gamble  @  avs.org
Chapters, Divisions, and Groups (C,D,G) -- Vincent Smentkowski vincent_smentkowski  @  avs.org
Chapters (Co-Chair) kateryna_artyushkova @ avs.org
Divisions & Groups Chair michael_filler @ avs.org
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) -- Erica Douglas erica_douglas @ avs.org
DEI (Vice-Chair) -- Stefan Zollner stefan_zollner @ avs.org
Education (ED) -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
♦Educational Materials and Outreach -- Svitlana Pylypenko svitlana_pylypenko  @  avs.org
♦Short Courses -- Dave Adams dave_adams  @  avs.org
♦History -- Neil Peacock neil_peacock  @  avs.org
Finance (FI) -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Audit -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
♦Investment Advisory -- Christie R.K. Marrian christie_marrian  @  avs.org
♦Compensation -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
Governance (GV) -- Michael D. Williams michael_williams  @  avs.org
♦Constitution and By-laws -- Rachael Myers-Ward rachael_myers-ward  @  avs.org
♦Outreach/Governance/Public -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦International Interactions -- Lisa Porter lisa_porter  @  avs.org
♦Strategic Planning -- Scott Bryan scott_bryan @  avs.org
Marketing and Communications (MC) -- Staff Function
♦Web
♦Buyer's Guide
                                                                                          
Membership (MM) Amy Walker; Vice-Chair: Susan Burkett amy_walker @ avs.org;
susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦Professional Leadership -- Jessica Hilton jessica_hilton @ avs.org
♦Recognition for Excellence in Mentorship -- Susan Burkett susan_burkett @ avs.org
♦Industrial Engagement -- David Surman  dave_surman @ avs.org
♦Early Career Professionals -- Rachael Farber
                                              -- Ann Lii-Rosales
rachael_farber @ avs.org
ann_lii-rosales @ avs.org 
Publications (PB) -- Chip Eddy; Vice-Chair: Jane P. Chang chip_eddy @ avs.org;
jane_chang @ avs.org
Recommended Practices (RP) -- Jacob Ricker jacob_ricker @ avs.org
Symposia & Conferences (S&C) -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph @ avs.org
♦Symposium Program --  R. Mohan Sankaran (2022 Chair) mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
-- Virginia “Ginger” Wheeler (2022 Vice-Chair/2023 Chair) virginia_wheeler @ avs.org
♦Exhibitors and Manufacturers (E&M) -- Staff Function  
♦Future Sites Team -- Staff Function  
♦Topical Conferences -- Eric Joseph eric_joseph @ avs.org
             ♦ ALD/ALE 2022
                -- Christophe Detavernier (ALD Chair)
                -- Jolien Dendooven/ Paul Poodt (ALD Co-Chairs)
                -- Erwin Kessels (ALE Chair)
                -- Harm Knoops/Jean-Francois de Marneffe (ALE Co-Chairs)

christophe_detavernier @ avs.org
jolien_dendooven @ avs.org
paul_poodt @ avs.org
erwin_kessels @ avs.org
harm_knoops @ avs.org
jean-francois_demarneffe @ avs.org
             ♦ PacSurf 2022 -- Ellen Fisher (Program Chair)
                                       -- David Castner (General Chair)                                    
ellen_fisher  @  avs.org
david_castner @ avs.org
Back to Top

Division Chairs

Advanced Surface Engineering Division -- Michael Stueber michael_stueber @ avs.org
Applied Surface Science Division -- Gregory L. Fisher gregory_fisher @ avs.org
Biomaterial Interfaces Division -- Karyn Jarvis karyn_jarvis @ avs.org
Electronic Materials and Photonics Division -- Seth T. King seth_king @ avs.org
Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division -- Valeria Lauter valeria_lauter @avs.org
Nanoscale Science and Technology Division -- Georg E. Fantner georg_fantner @ avs.org
Plasma Science and Technology Division -- Sebastian Engelmann sebastian_engelmann @ avs.org
Surface Science Division -- Donna Chen donna_chen @ avs.org
Thin Film Division -- Angel Yanguas-Gil angel_yanguas-gil @ avs.org
Vacuum Technology Division -- Yevgeniy Lushtak yevgeniy_lushtak @ avs.org



Back to Top


Group Chairs

Manufacturing Science and Technology Group -- Tina Kaarsberg tina_kaarsberg @ avs.org                                   
MEMS and NEMS Technical Group -- Christian Zorman christian_zorman @ avs.org



Back to Top


Chapter Chairs

Florida Chapter (3/31/22) -- Mihai Vaida mihai_vaida @ avs.org                                        
Hudson Mohawk Chapter (12/31/22) -- Marco Hopstaken marco_hopstaken @ avs.org
Michigan Chapter (12/31/22) -- Sergei Baryshev sergei_baryshev @ avs.org
Mid-Atlantic States Chapter (12/31/22) -- Jennifer Hite jennifer_hite @ avs.org
Minnesota Chapter (12/31/22) -- Kateryna Artyushkova kateryna_artyushkova @ avs.org
New England Chapter (12/31/22) -- Necmi Biyikli necmi_biyikli @ avs.org
New Mexico Chapter (12/31/22) -- David Henry david_henry @ avs.org 
Northern California Chapter (12/31/22) -- Chris Malocsay chris_malocsay @ avs.org
Ohio Chapter (12/31/22) -- Katherine Burzynski katherine_burzynski @ avs.org
Pacific Northwest Chapter (12/31/22) -- Xiao-Ying Yu xiao-ying_yu @ avs.org
Prairie Chapter (12/31/22) -- Mary Kraft mary_kraft @ avs.org
Rocky Mountain Chapter (12/31/22) -- Steve Harvey  steve_harvey @ avs.org
Southern California Chapter (12/31/22) -- Anna Corinne D'Ambrosio corinne_dambrosio @ avs.org
Tennessee Valley Chapter (12/31/22) -- Petro Maksymovych petro_maksymovych @ avs.org
Texas Chapter (12/31/22) -- Manuel Quevedo manuel_quevedo @ avs.org
Western Pennsylvania Chapter (12/31/22) -- Evan Sawyer evan_sawyer @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Chapter

Taiwan AVS -- Jinn P. Chu                 jinn_chu @ avs.org
St. Lawrence AVS -- Ludvik Martinu ludvik_martinu @ avs.org


Back to Top


International Affiliate

Cuban Physical Society -- María Sánchez Colina maria_sanchez-colina @ avs.org
Israel Vacuum Society -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Korean Vacuum Society -- Guen Young Yeom geun_yeom @ avs.org
Polish Vacuum Society -- Leszek Markowski leszek_markowski @ avs.org
Sociedad Mexicana de Ciencia y Terconlogía de Superficies y Materiales -- Gregorio Hernandez-Cocoletzi  gregorio_hernandez-cocoletzi @ avs.org                                                      
Sociedade Brasileira de Vácuo - Pedro A Nascente pedro_nascente @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of Australia -- Anton Stampfl anton_stampfl @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of the Philippines -- Magdaleno R. Vasquez Jr.  magdaleno_vasquez @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Student University Chapter Chairs

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering -- Alexander Waldenmaier alexander_waldenmaier @ avs.org
Colorado School of Mines -- Margaret Fitzgerald margaret_fitzgerald @ avs.org
Dallas Metroplex -- Tania Estrada tania_estrada @ avs.org
Northwestern University -- Si Eun (Ruth) Lee si_lee @ avs.org
Southwest (inactive)  
UCLA -- Aditya Deshpande aditya_deshpande @ avs.org
University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa -- Roni Paul roni_paul @ avs.org
University of Central Florida -- Brian Ferrari brian_ferrari @ avs.org
University of Florida -- Stefano Barba stefano_barba @ avs.org
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- Abigail Berg abigail_berg @ avs.org
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (inactive)  
University of Texas at El Paso (inactive)  
University of Washington (inactive)  
 

Back to Top


IUVSTA Appointees

Councilor -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos @ avs.org             
Alternate Councilor -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org 
ASED Representative -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org
ASSD Representative -- John T. Grant john_grant @ avs.org
BID Representative -- Sally M. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
EMPD Representative -- Lisa M. Porter lisa_porter @ avs.org
NSTD Representative -- Nancy A. Burnham nancy_burnham @ avs.org
PSTD Representative -- Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
SSD Representative -- Petra Reinke petra_reinke @avs.org
TFD Representative -- Siamak Nejati siamak_nejati @ avs.org
VTD Representative -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


Journal Editors

AVS & JVST Editor-in-Chief -- Eray Aydil eray_aydil @ avs.org
Biointerphases Editor-in-Chief -- Tobias Weidner tobias_weidner @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Fang Cheng fang_cheng @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Caitlin Howell caitlin_howell @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Stefan Zauscher  stefan_zauscher @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Erwin Kessels erwin_kessels @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Stephanie Law stephanie_law @avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Amy V. Walker amy_walker @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Joshua M.O. Zide joshua_zide @avs.org
SSS Editor-in-Chief -- Richard T. Haasch richard_haasch @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Daniel J. Graham dan_graham @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Nikolas Podraza nikolas_podraza @ avs.org
SSS Associate Editor -- Alex Shard alex_shard @ avs.org
AQS Editor-in-Chief -- Philippe Bouyer philippe_bouyer @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Vanderlei S. Bagnato vanderlei_bagnato @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Xuzong Chen xuzong_chen @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Yong Chen yong_chen @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Andrew Forbes andrew_forbes @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Ivette Fuentes ivette_fuentes @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Pieter Kok pieter_kok @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Leong-Chuan Kwek leong-chuan_kwek @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Isabelle Robert-Philip isabelle_robert-philip @ avs.org
AQS Associate Editor -- Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop halina_rubinsztein-dunlop @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS Designated Director on the AIP Board of Directors

Susan Burkett Term to Spring 2023 susan_burkett @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AVS MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE TO AIP:

Alison A. Baski                             alison_baski @ avs.org
 

Back to Top


AIP Special Committees (External)

Liaison Committee on Under-Represented Minorities -  Erica A. Douglas - '23 erica_douglas @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Physics Education - Tom Christensen - '25 tom_christensen @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Public Policy – Daniel Gaspar – ‘23 daniel_gaspar @avs.org
Liaison Committee on History – Neil Peacock – ‘23 neil_peacock @avs.org
Publishing Board of Managers – Ivan G. Petrov* – ‘22 ivan_petrov @ avs.org
Publishing Partnerships Committee – Rachel Bayne, Yvonne Towse – ‘23 rachel @ avs.org
yvonne @ avs.org
State Department Selection Committee – Rudy Ludeke – ‘22 rudy_ludeke @ avs.org
 

Back to Top