AVS Election Winners | Biography: Gregory J. Exarhos

Gregory J. Exarhos

Gregory J. Exarhos
Pacific Northwest National Labs
Gregory J. Exarhos, a Laboratory Fellow emeritus within the Physical Sciences Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), graduated magna cum laude from Lawrence University and received his Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Brown University. An assistant Professor at Harvard University, his group investigated cation motion in amorphous phases, phase transformation dynamics in amorphous materials, and electron-beam surface modification.

In a concurrent DOD consultant role, he contributed to the development of radar absorbing coatings. Research at PNNL involved thin film deposition and post-deposition modification, optical properties measurements, and correlation of resident defect states with attendant film behavior. Innovative approaches to materials processing have been recognized internationally through publications, invited presentations, press releases, and radio interviews. He held an Adjunct Professor of Physics position at WSU-Pullman with subsequent appointment as a member of the Board of Visitors for the College of Sciences.

A co-recipient of Federal Laboratory Consortium and R&D 100 awards, and nine patents, involving combustion synthesis of ceramic oxide powders, film deposition and modification strategies, and unconventional processing routes to polymer composites, he has co-authored over 200 publications, journal review articles and book chapters on optical films. For over twenty years, he organized the annual conference on Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials, and was co-editor of the associated proceedings. 

Greg has served the AVS in numerous appointed and elected positions including: AVS President (2009) and Treasurer (2013-); AVS Board of Directors (1998-2000); VMD Executive Board (1992-1999); ASED Executive Board (2000-2002, 2005-2007); ASED Treasurer (2015- ) AVS Long Range Planning Committee Chair (1997-1999); AVS Governance Committee Chair (2011-2012); VMD Symposium Chair (1997); ICMCTF Symposium Chair (1986-1991), Program Chair (1992, 2001), and General Chair (1993, 2002); ASED Symposium Chair (1994-1996, 2001); Program Chair for the 44th AVS International Symposium and Exhibition in San Jose, CA; AVS Publications Committee Chair (2000-2004); Secretary (1998-2001) and Chair (2001-2004) of the Surface Engineering Division of the IUVSTA; SED Symposium Co-Chair for IUVSTA (1998-2004); Trustee-Awards and Scholarships Committee of IUVSTA (2007-2010); U.S. alternate and councilor to IUVSTA (2007-); He has served on the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology, and Materials Letters and was the North American Editor of VACUUM.  He offers a biweekly Research Proposal Writing Workshop to early career scientists. 

Greg is a Fellow of the AVS, the AAAS, and the ACerS.