About AVS > Press/Media Center > AVS Election Winners 2020



Timothy Gessert
Gessert Consulting, LLC

Timothy Gessert is the Principal and Managing Member of Gessert Consulting, LLC (Conifer, CO), and a former/retired Principal Scientist at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL, Golden, CO).  His 35+ years of research span various technologies and materials for photovoltaic (PV) devices including GaAs, InP, Si, CuInGaSe2, and CdTe, as well as development of transparent conducting oxides (TCOs).  Learn more


David Surman
Kratos Analytical Inc.

David Surman has been a long-standing member of the AVS. In 2009, Dave accepted the position as the Chair of the Exhibitor & Manufacturers Committee. In 2011, he was elected to the AVS Board of Directors where he served a two-year term from 2012-2013. During his term on the AVS Board of Directors, he served as Chair of the Membership Committee, a position he has continued to hold.  Learn more


Gregory J. Exarhos
Pacific Northwest National Labs

Gregory J. Exarhos, a Laboratory Fellow emeritus within the Physical Sciences Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), graduated magna cum laude from Lawrence University and received his Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Brown University. An assistant Professor at Harvard University, his group investigated cation vibrations in glassy phases, phase transformation phenomena in amorphous materials, and electron-beam surface modification.  Learn more

DIRECTOR (2021-2022)

Svitlana Pylypenko
Colorado School of Mines

Svitlana Pylypenko is an Assistant Professor in the Chemistry Department at the Colorado School of Mines. She is also involved in the interdisciplinary Materials Science Program at Mines and holds a joint appointment at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. Prior to joining the Chemistry Department, Svitlana was an Assistant Research faculty in the Department of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering.  Learn more

DIRECTOR (2021-2022)

Kateryna Artyushkova
Physical Electronics Inc.

Kateryna Artyushkova is a Senior Staff Scientist at Physical Electronics. Her research focuses on developing applications and methodologies for surface analysis focusing on X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy. She has received an M.A. Degree with Honors in chemistry from the National Technical University of Ukraine, Kyiv in 1995. She obtained her Ph.D. in chemistry from Kent State University in December of 2001 under the supervision of Julia E. Fulghum.  Learn more

DIRECTOR (2021-2022)

Dan Killelea
Loyola University Chicago

Dan Killelea is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at Loyola University Chicago.  His research focus is on the chemical properties of metallic surfaces relevant to heterogeneous catalysis.  Of particular interest to his research group is how the relationships between the structure and chemistry of metal surfaces evolve upon oxidation and with increasing oxygen incorporation into the near surface region.  Learn more

TRUSTEE (2021-2023)

Sally L. McArthur
Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Sally L. McArthur is a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at Swinburne University of Technology and a Research+Science Leader at CSIRO, Australia’s national industrial research organization. The focus of Sally’s research is on interfacing biology with technology. She uses surface engineering strategies of plasma polymerisation, wet chemistry and microfabrication to create new biomaterials. 
Learn more

TRUSTEE (2021-2023)

Bruce D. Kay
Pacific Northwest National Labs

Bruce D. Kay joined Pacific Northwest National Laboratory as Laboratory Fellow in 1991 after ten years at Sandia National Laboratory.  He is also Affiliate Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Washington and the University of Alabama.  Kay received a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Illinois in 1976 and a Ph.D. in Chemical Physics from the University of Colorado in 1982.
Learn more