Awards > Division Group Student Awards > Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical Group

Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical Group

The Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical Group presents multiple awards annually at the International Symposium:  student poster/presentation award and student travel award. These awards are made possible by financial support from J.A. Woollam Co., Inc.

Student Poster/Presentation Award is given at the annual AVS International Symposium and Exhibition. All student participants, both poster and oral, participating in a Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical session will be automatically considered. The presenting author must be a graduate or undergraduate student at the time of submission. Awards will be judged on the scientific merit and originality of their research, their contribution to it, as well as the quality of their presentation. Poster award candidates must be present during the Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical poster session for judging.  The Award consists of a certificate and a $500 cash prize. Multiple awards are anticipated.
Student Travel Award: is available for the 2024 AVS International Symposium and Exhibition.  Any graduate and undergraduate students who have an accepted abstract AND will be presenting in a Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Technical session at the International Symposium. All accepted abstracts with a student as presenting author are automatically considered. Multiple awards are anticipated.


2022 - Megan Stokey
2015 - Sean Knight
2015 - Avery Green
2014 - Chad Briley
2013 - Philipp Kuhne 
2013 - Alex Boosalis
2012 - Harm Knoops - 1st Place
2012 - Gangadhara Muthinti - 2nd Place 
2012 - Ecatherina Roodenko - 3rd Place
2011 - Keith Rodenhausen - 1st Place
2011 - Daniel Schmidt - 2nd Place 
2011 - Noemi Leick-Marius - 2nd Place