Awards > Division Group Student Awards > Magnetic Interfaces & Nanostructures Division - The Leo M. Falicov Student Award

Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division

The Leo M. Falicov Student Award has been established in memory of Professor Leo M. Falicov to recognize outstanding research performed by a graduate student in areas of interest to MIND. Finalists will be selected on the basis of abstract submission, and will receive a cash award upon attending the AVS International Symposium and presenting their paper in an oral MIND session. The winner will be selected on the basis of the oral presentation, considering quality of research and clarity of presentation, and will receive a cash prize and a certificate. Interested applicants (except for former winners) should complete the application on the awards submission site and submit a copy of the submitted AVS abstract and a letter of recommendation before the abstract deadline of May 10, 2023.

Awards Application

Winner of the 2019 Falicov Award

2019 Falicov Award

Left to right: Valeria Lauter (Chair, MIND Division), Navid Mottaghi (Winner 2019 of the Falicov Award), Shambhu KC (Finalist of the Falicov Award), and Markus Donath (Award Committee Chair)

List of Recipients

1999 W.H. Rippard 2007 David Wisbey 2013 Kaida Yang
2000 R.D. Portugal 2007 John Srachan 2014 Henry Wortelen
2001 D.B. Shultz 2008 Zhuhua Cai 2015 Andrada-Oana Mandru
2002 E.L. Biizdaca 2009 Wei Han 2016 -
2003 Tiffany Kaspar 2010 Kankang Wang 2017 Oren Ben dor
2004 Maria Torija 2011 Juan Colon-Santana 2018 Kevin Fitzell
2005 Jessica Hilton 2012 Chloe Baldasseroni 2019 Navid Mottaghi
2006 Randy Dumas 2013  Jason Kawasaki 2021 Christoph Angrick