Awards > Division Group Awards > Thin Film Division Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award

Thin Film Division Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award

The Thin Film Division is pleased to solicit nominations for a prestigious award, the Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award. This award is named after Professor Paul H. Holloway, who has a distinguished history of scholarship and services to AVS. The nominee must be a young scientist or engineer who has contributed outstanding theoretical and experimental work in an area important to the AVS Thin Film Division and be a current AVS member. The nominee’s Ph.D. or equivalent degree must have been earned less than 7 years prior to January 1 of the award year. Required application materials:
  1. a description citing the reason for nomination;
  2. a nominating letter and two supporting letters;
  3. a biography and CV of the nominee. 
It is expected that an applicant will also submit an abstract to the Annual Symposium in Thin Film sponsored or co-sponsored session. Application materials will be reviewed and the award winner chosen by the TFD Awards Committee. The award consists of a cash prize, a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an honorary lecture at one of the TFD oral sessions at the International Symposium. Application materials should be sent to Devika Choudhury, Deadline: May 13, 2024​.

List of Recipients

2009 Suneel Kodambaka 2014 Andrea Illiberi 2019 Adriaan Mackus
2010 O. Martin Ntwaaborwa 2015 Cunjian Yu 2020 Matthias Young
2011 Sumit Agarwal 2016 Neil Dasgupta 2021 Deep Jariwala
2012 Franklin Tao 2017 Bharat Jalan 2022 Nicholas Glavin
2013 Per Eklund 2018 Jason Kawasaki 2023 Junjie Zhao