Awards > Division Group Student Awards > Applied Surface Science

Applied Surface Science

The Applied Surface Science Division is once again offering the opportunity for students to participate in its annual student award competition – where three finalists will present their research to their ASSD peers and compete for cash awards! Students who are interested in competing are required to submit an abstract for a poster or talk to one of the ASSD or ASSD co-sponsored sessions to be eligible. Presentation during an AVS International Symposium session is required for eligibility. Three finalists will be selected by the ASSD Student Awards Committee from the overall applicant pool. The finalists will present a “capsule” (3-slide, 5-minute) presentation to the judges during the Tuesday night ASSD Business Meeting. The finalists will be ranked based upon their presentation skills, scientific merit and originality of their work. First, second, and third place prizes are $750, $450 and $300 respectively. In addition to the grand monetary prize, the student that wins the best presentation award will be reimbursed for the 2023 AVS International Symposium registration at the student rate. Students who win more than one award in a given year at the International Symposium will receive an award amount that is capped at $2250. The winner will also be asked to submit an abstract to an ASSD or ASSD co-sponsored session in 2024. Students wishing to participate in the competition should complete the application on the awards submission site and submit an abstract by May 10, 2023.

Awards Application

Past Winners (1st Place):

1987   Leticia Quinones 1988   Gregory Stauf 1989   Mathew G. Blain
1990   Jerry L. Hunter, Jr 1991   Mary Elizabeth Napier 1992   Gerald Magera
1993   Lee Rumaner 1994   Peiter Gunter 1995   Camille Kassis
1996   Sudipta Seal 1997   Jim Zhao 1998   Mark D. Mowery
1999   Chris Moffitt 2000   Berndt Gotsmann 2001   Saravanapriyan Sriraman
2002   Yuki Yoshida 2003   Mingyao Zhu 2004   Xin Zhao
2005   Chi-Ying Lee 2006   Hiral Ajmera 2007   Sirnegeda Techane
2008   Joseph Baio 2009   Michelle Sestak 2010   Daniel Schmidt
2011   Stefan Schöche 2012   William Roach 2013   Tevis Jacobs
2014   Eng Wen Ong 2015   Alex Pearse 2016   Gopalakrishnan Ramalingam
2017   Jin Li 2018   Maiglid Moreno 2019   Jodi Grzeskowiak
2020   William Blades 2021   Sarah Zaccarine 2022   Robert Chrostowski