Awards > Division Group Awards > Nanoscale Science and Technology Division Early Career Competition

Nanoscale Science and Technology Division Early Career Competition

As nanoscience has continued to expand its impact in diverse fields, including quantum science, biology, mechanics, and energy, the Nanoscale Science and Technology Division (NSTD) has been a hub of research broadly related to instrumentation, lithography, manipulation, imaging, and technology translation. The NSTD holds an Early Career Competition at the annual AVS International Symposium to highlight and celebrate exceptional researchers working on the frontiers of nanoscience. Post-doctoral researchers and beginning independent researchers presenting a poster or oral presentation in an NSTD-sponsored or co-sponsored session are encouraged to apply.

To apply, send a cover letter, resume, and AVS abstract to the NSTD Awards Coordinator, Deep Jariwala (, as a single PDF file. For consideration, the application must be sent by 11:59 PM CDT, July 20, 2024. Please mention AVS NSTD Award in the title of your email. For eligibility, the applicant must hold a doctoral degree for no more than five years at the time of abstract submission. Note that this award highlights work performed after the Ph.D.; thus, research conducted toward a doctorate will not be considered. Applications from industry, national laboratories, and academic institutions are encouraged.

The NSTD Awards Committee will select all Early Career award finalists, and they will be informed in September 2024. All finalists must present a five-minute talk (with additional time for questions) at the NSTD Sunday plenary session for the awards competition. The winner will be selected based on the quality of the talk, the responses to subsequent questions, and the level of the research. The NSTD Early Career Award winner will receive a certificate and a cash award of $500. Depending on the needs of the following year's AVS Symposium, the winner will be considered for an invited talk. This award is made possible by financial support from NSTD's sponsors, who in 2023 were Quantum Design, Attocube, Heidelberg Instruments, RHK Technology, SPECS-TII.

List of Recipients

Early Career Award Winner
  • 2023 Sesha Challa
  • 2022 Aditya Sood
  • 2021 Alwin Daus
  • 2020 Shaowei Li
  • 2019 Wei-Chang David Yang
  • 2018 Canhui Wang
  • 2017 Deep Jariwala
  • 2014 Keith Brown