Awards Committee

Trustee (2020-2022)

Lara Gamble

University of Washington
MolES Box 351653
Box 351653
Seattle, WA 98195
Tel: 206-616-4173
E-mail: lara_gamble @

LARA GAMBLE is a Research Associate Professor in the department of Bioengineering at the University of Washington.  She is also the Co-Director of the National ESCA and Surface Analysis Center for Biomedical Problems (NESAC/BIO) as well as the Director of the Molecular Analysis Facility (MAF) at the UW.  Lara’s scientific research interests involve applying surface characterization and modification techniques to biomedically relevant research such as biomaterials, biosensors, and molecular imaging of tissues and cells in 2D and 3D.   Lara has over 50 publications and has given many invited talks and tutorials on surface analysis.  Lara received her undergraduate degree in chemistry from University of California, Santa Cruz in (1990) and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of Washington (1996) with Prof. Charles Campbell studying organofunctionalization of TiO2(110).   She did her postdoctoral research at NESAC/BIO (1997-2000) then worked at Zyomyx, Inc., a biotech startup in Fremont, CA, on modification and characterization of surfaces for protein and DNA biosensor applications before returning to the University of Washington.  Lara has been involved in AVS since a presentation at the 42nd AVS symposium while in graduate school.  She has continued to be active in AVS including a member of the local arrangement committee when AVS was in Seattle in 1999 and the Chair of the local arrangements committee for AVS 2007 in Seattle.   She has been an Executive Committee Member for both the Biomaterials Interface and the Applied Surface Science divisions (2005-2007) as well as Program Chair-elect, Program Chair, Chair, and Past Chair of the Biomaterials Interface Division (2009-2013).   She was also honored to receive the Peter M.A. Sherwood Mid Career Award from the AVS Applied Surface Science Division in 2015. Recently she finished her tenure as a director on the AVS Board.