About AVS > Governance & Roster > Awards Committee > James (Jim) M. Fitz-Gerald

Awards Committee

Trustee (2020-2022)

James (Jim) M. Fitz-Gerald

University of Virginia
Wilsdorf Hall, #226
395 McCormick Road
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4745
Tel: 434-982-5660
e-mail: james_fitz-gerald @ avs.org

JAMES (JIM) M. FITZ-GERALD is on the faculty in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Virginia where he also serves as the Director of Undergraduate Studies.  Jim received a bachelor of science in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Lowell followed by graduate degrees in materials science and engineering from the University of Florida.  Prior to his appointment at UVA, Jim completed his post-doctoral studies at the Naval Research Laboratory.  During his time at UVA, he has held teaching, research, and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students in the highest regard. This has been recognized through awards received by numerous students including the Hartfield-Jefferson Scholars Teaching Prize for excellence in undergraduate teaching and the Henry Kinnier award for mentoring students beyond the classroom which naturally includes his students at every AVS meeting he attends. Jim’s research is centered on advanced laser processing of materials, which presently includes the sub-fields of corrosion and laser surface modification.  At this time Jim is a co-author on over 150 refereed journal and conference proceedings, 40 invited talks, co-founded three companies, and is a fellow of the AVS. Jim has enjoyed serving the AVS in many areas and capacities where he enjoys attending the local meetings of the AVS Mid-Atlantic Chapter and nationally where he has served in various capacities as a symposia organizer, moderator, executive committee member (thin film division (TFD) 2005-2007), TFD vice chair (2007), TFD chair (2008), AVS program vice chair (AVS 59, 2012 Tampa), AVS program chair (AVS 60, 2013 Long Beach), board of directors (2015 - 2017), and currently as chair of the symposium and conferences committee (2017 - present).