Awards Committee

Trustee (2019-2021)

Bridget Rogers

Vanderbilt University
PMB 351604, 2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235-1604
Bus. Tel.: 615-343-3269
E-mail: bridget_rogers @

BRIDGET R. ROGERS is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Director of the Undergraduate Program in Materials Science at Vanderbilt University. Her research focuses on surface/interface/film formation, characterization, and microstructure evolution. Among her awards are: 2016 Distingushed Faculty Award from the Vanderbilt University Organization of Black Graduate and Professional Students, 2009 AVS Fellow, 2004 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), 2001 NSF Career Award, and 1997 AVS Graduate Research Award.  Between 1984 and 1998 Bridget was employed in Motorola’s Semiconductor Products Sector. Her industrial responsibilities included materials research and characterization, process development, and process engineering.  Bridget received her Ph.D. (1998) and M.S. (1990) degrees in chemical engineering from Arizona State University, and her B.S. (1984) degree in chemical engineering from the University of Colorado, Boulder. Bridget has been exceptionally active in the AVS since 1989, serving both at the local and national levels. She is currently Chair of the Manufacturing Science and Technology Technical Group, Chair of the Professional Leadership Committee and has served as the Race Director for the Annual 5k run since 2012.  She served as an AVS Director from 2006-2009, chaired the Short Course Executive Committee from 2004-2007, and chaired the Chapters, Groups, and Divisions Committee from 1998 to 2001.  She served as a member of the Vacuum Technology Division’s Executive Committee (1999-2001) and chaired the VTD in 2002.  Also, she served on the Applied Surface Science Division’s Executive Committee (2001-2003). Bridget has been on the executive committee of the Tennessee Valley Chapter since 2002.  She also was a key contributor to Arizona’s local chapter, serving on the executive board (1989-1998), and holding the offices of Chair (1991-1992) as well as Treasurer (1989-1991).