AVS Election Winners | Biography: Mark Engelhard

Mark Engelhard

Mark Engelhard
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Mark Engelhard is a Senior Research Scientist in the Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory located at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. Since 1980 he has used and adapted surface sensitive techniques, particularly XPS, to study surfaces and interphases important to environmental, energy, and catalytic materials and systems.

He has worked as a principal investigator and scientist on fundamental and applied research projects that involved collaborations with academic, government, and industrial partners. Mark has collaboratively published over 600 peer reviewed journal articles, including 6 book chapters with over 34K citations (Web of Science h index 96) and was named a Highly Cited Researcher by Clarivate Analytics in 2018, 2019, and 2020.

Mark joined the AVS in 1990 and has been actively involved in the society at both national and regional levels. Mark currently serves as Chair of the Applied Surface Science Division (ASSD) (2021), as a member of the AVS Topical Conference, Recommended Practices Committees, and is an Editorial Board member of Surface Science Spectra. He served as Chair of the AVS Publications Committee (2008-2010) and was a member of the AVS Finance, Membership, and Marketing and Communications Committees (2008-2010). He has contributed to the AVS65 and AVS66 program committees, and on several ASSD Surface Analysis and Quantitative Surface Analysis topical conference committees. Regionally, he was Chair of the Pacific Northwest Chapter of AVS (2013-2014), Co-Chair of the 39th Surface Analysis, SIMS USA, and 29th PNWAVS Symposium in 2016, and Chair for the 25th PNWAVS Symposium (2014).

Mark has supported efforts to enhance the quality of surface analysis by leading a variety of activities for the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International Committee E42 on Surface Analysis (active since 2001) and the International Organization for Standards (ISO) Technical Committee 201 on Surface Chemical Analysis (currently serving as the head of the US delegation). Mark has mentored many students and postdoctoral researchers on the fundamentals and applications of XPS for decades. He was a Guest Associate Editor of the JVST A Special Topic Collection “Reproducibility Challenges and Solutions” and is currently a Guest Editor for a JVST-A Special Collection on Oxide Thin Films.

Mark received the ASTM International Cedric Powell Award in 2020, the AVS George Hanyo Award in 1997, and the US Department of Energy’s award for outstanding scientific accomplishment in 1992.

He was elected Fellow of the AVS in 2013.