The technical structure of AVS is organized as a matrix. Members can participate in one or more Divisions or Technical Groups, each of which is focused around a major topical area. Members may also participate in Chapters and Student Chapters, which are regional organizations that focus on local area needs.

Surface Science - Officers/Contacts


Irene Groot
email: irene_groot @

Program Chair (2024) / Chair (2025)
Florencia Calaza
email: florencia_calaza @

Program Chair-Elect (2024) / Program Chair (2025) / Chair (2026)
Nan Jiang
nan_jiang @

Dan Killelea
email: dan_killelea @

Eric Altman
email: eric_altman @

Executive Members

Lifeng Chi (2024-2025)
email: lifeng_chi @

Barbara A.J. Lechner (2024-2025)
email: barbara_lechner @

Reinhard J. Maurer (2024-2025)
email: reinhard_maurer @

Mildred Quintana (2024-2025)
email: mildred_quintana @

Sabine Maier (2023-2024)
email: sabine_maier @

Jean-Sabin Mcewen (2023-2024)
email: jean-Sabin_mcewen @

Dario Stacchiola (2023-2024)
email: dario_stacchiola @