The technical structure of AVS is organized as a matrix. Members can participate in one or more Divisions or Technical Groups, each of which is focused around a major topical area. Members may also participate in Chapters and Student Chapters, which are regional organizations that focus on local area needs.

Surface Science - Meet a Member (Scott Anderson)

Scott Anderson

I am a physical chemist who started in gas-phase spectroscopy and reaction dynamics (B.A. from Rice University with Phil Brooks, Ph.D. from Berkeley with Y.T. Lee, postdoc with Dick Zare at Stanford).  I joined the chemistry faculty at SUNY Stony Brook in 1983, studying gas-phase reactions of state-selected ions and of metal/metalloid clusters, then moved to University of Utah in 1995, where I am currently a Distinguished Professor and Henry Eyring Presidential Endowed Chair in Chemistry.

As part of the move, I switched my research from gas-phase to surface chemistry which I knew practically nothing about, and AVS became important to me as a venue to learn about everything surface- and UHV-related, and to meet colleagues and make friends.  I hope that being on the executive committee will give me opportunities to help other newbies in the surface science field.

I currently focus on two areas of nanoparticle surface chemistry:  1. Catalysis and electrocatalysis by size-selected clusters deposited on surfaces in UHV. 2. Surface chemistry of individual nanoparticles, using a new single-particle trapping method.  We focus on understanding cluster size effects on catalysis, the effects of nanoparticle structure on surface chemistry, and development of the single-particle trapping method as a tool for chemistry at ultra-high temperatures (>3000 K), where conventional surface science is difficult.