The technical structure of AVS is organized as a matrix. Members can participate in one or more Divisions or Technical Groups, each of which is focused around a major topical area. Members may also participate in Chapters and Student Chapters, which are regional organizations that focus on local area needs.

Applied Surface Science - Officers/Contacts


Jordan Lerach
Email:  jordan_lerach @

Chair- Elect
Samantha Rosenberg
Email:  samantha_rosenberg @

Julia Zakel
Email:  julia_zakel @

Peter M. A. Sherwood
Email: peter_sherwood @

Past Chair
Alex Shard
Email: alex_shard @

EC Members-at-Large (2024-2026)

David Morgan
Email: david_morgan @

Hong Piao
Email:  hong_piao @

EC Members-at-Large Early Career (2024-2026)

Lyndi E. Strange
Email:  lyndi_strange @


EC Members-at-Large (2023-2025)

Timothy Spila
Email:  timothy_spila @

Tanguy Terlier
Email:  tanguy_terlier @

EC Member-at-Large Early Career (2023-2025)

Andrew T. Francis
Email:  andrew_francis @

EC Members-at-Large (2022-2024)

Steve Consiglio
Email: steve_consiglio @

Suntharampillai Thevuthasan
Email: suntharampillai_thevuthasan @

EC Members-at-Large Early Career (2022-2024)

Jodi Grzeskowiak
Email: jodi_grzeskowiak @


A list of past officers can be found here.