VTD - Officers/Contacts

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing


2019 Chair, 2020 Program-Chair
Jacob Ricker
Ph. 301-975-4475
email: jacob_ricker @ avs.org

2019 Chair-Elect, 2020 Chair, 2021 Program-Chair
Jason Carter
Ph. 913-221-3754
email: jacob_ricker @ avs.org

2019 Program-Chair
Jacob Ricker
Ph. 301-975-4475
email: jacob_ricker @ avs.org

Immediate Past Program chair
Gerardo A. Brucker
Phone: 303-859-8000
email: gerardo_brucker @ avs.org

Neil T. Peacock
Ph. 303-848-6517
email: neil_peacock @ avs.org

Marcy L. Stutzman
Phone: 757-269-7073
email: marcy_stutzman @ avs.org


Terms ending 2021

Scott Heinbuch
Ph: 303-848-6525
email: scott_heinbuch @ avs.org

Sol Omolayo
Ph: 510-486-4432
email: Sol_omolayo @ avs.org

Terms ending 2020

Giulia Lanza
Ph: 650-926-4450
email: giulia_lanza @ avs.org

Julia Scherschligt
Ph: 301-975-5328
email: julia_scherschligt @ avs.org

Terms ending 2019

Jason Alfrey 
Ph: 865-481-3342 EXT. 2224
email: jason_alfrey @ avs.org

Alan Van Drie
Ph: 949-981-5338
email: alan_vandrie @ avs.org

Subcommittees/Event Coordinators

Shop Note Award Coordinator
Yulin Li
Phone: 607.255.9878
Pgr: 607.255.4882
email: yulin_li @ avs.org

Ask-The-Expert Coordinator
Yevgeniy Lushtak
Ph. 719.527.4149
email: yevgeniy_lushtak @ avs.org
VTD Student Poster Award Coordinator; 2010-2016 IUVSTA VT Rep.
Jay Hendricks
Phone : 301.975.4836
email: jay_hendricks @ avs.org
VTD Early Career Award Coordinator
James Fedchak
Phone 301.975.8962 (office)
email: james_fedchak @ avs.org

Team VTD 5K Fun Run Coordinator
Paul Arnold
Ph. 303-848-6577
email: paul_arnold @ avs.org
VTD Web Coordinator
Jacob Ricker
Phone 301.975.4475
email: jacob_ricker @ avs.org


We are thankful to the following individuals and organizations for their support of AVS and their contributions to the AVS Leadership Fund:

John M. Baker
Samuel D. Bader
John Baker
Timothy S. Barge
Victor Bermudez
Dawn Bonnell
Nancy Burnham
Lap S. Chan
Benjamin B. Dayton
Hugh L. Garvin
David Hoffman
John R. Noonan
Clifford G. Olson
Cedric Powell
David Simons
Michael Trenary
Gwo-Ching Wang
Cara Weitzsacker
Robert M. Willis 

Yip-Wah Chung
Paula Grunthaner
Michael Grunze
Marsbed Hablanian
Michael Kottke
James M. Lafferty
Theodore E. Madey
Buddy Ratner
William R. Wheeler

James S. Murday
Stephen J. Pearton

Rudolf Dobrozemsky
Helix Technology
Paul Holloway
Walter M. McCain
Gary W. Rubloff
Rey Whetten
"Feeling connected to the larger scientific community is very important. An award is the nicest kind of connection, saying that your work is appreciated by your peers"

Dr. Jerry Tersoff, IBM T.J. Watson,

Research Center

[on receiving the 2007 AVS Medard W. Welch Award]