PSTD - Meetings & Symposia

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

Technical Programs

The PSTD supports advances in plasma science and technology through sessions, tutorials and topical conferences at the annual AVS International Symposium and Exhibition, and through a number of cosponsored topical conferences throughout the year.

Depending on the theme of a particular session at the International Symposium, it can be jointly organized by the PSTD and other divisions with overlapping interests, such as the Surface Science Division, the Applied Surface Science Division, the Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division, the Electronic Materials and Processing Division, and the Manufacturing Science and Technology Topical Group.

Atomic Layer Etching 2018 Workshop (ALE 2018)

July 29 - August 1, 2018
Incheon, South Korea
The AVS 18th International Conference on Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD 2018) featuring the 5th International Atomic Layer Etching Workshop (ALE 2018) will be a three-day meeting dedicated to the science and technology of atomic layer controlled deposition of thin films and now topics related to atomic layer etching.  Since 2001, the ALD conference has been held alternately in the United States, Europe and Asia, allowing fruitful exchange of ideas, know-how and practices between scientists. This year, the ALD conference will again incorporate the Atomic Layer Etching 2018 Workshop (ALE 2018), so that attendees can interact freely. The conference will take place Sunday, July 29-Wednesday, August 1, 2018, at the Songdo Convensia in Incheon, South Korea.
As in past conferences, the meeting will be preceded (Sunday, July 29) by one day of tutorials and a welcome reception. Sessions will take place (Monday-Wednesday, July 30-August 1) along with an industry tradeshow. All presentations will be audio-recorded and provided to attendees following the conference (posters will be included as PDFs). Anticipated attendance is 600+.


ALD Program Chairs
Program Chair: Jin-Seong Park
Hanyang University, South Korea
Program Co-Chair: Hanjin Lim
Samsung Electronics, South Korea
Program Co-Chair: HyunChul Choi
LG Display, South Korea
ALE Program Chairs
Program Chair: Geun Young Yeom
Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea
Program Co-Chair: Ankur Agarwal
KLA-Tencor, USA

Details are available on the ALD 2018 Website

Questions? Contact Della Miller,

AVS 65th International Symposium & Exhibition