Division/Group Student Awards

Awards | Morton M. Traum Surface Science Student Award

Morton M. Traum Surface Science Student Award

The AVS Surface Science (SS) Division solicits nominations for the Morton M. Traum Surface Science Student Award to be given to the best student presenter at the AVS International Symposium. This is the oldest student award in AVS, presented since 1981. A candidate for the award must be registered to give an oral or poster presentation at the AVS International Symposium and be either a current graduate student or have received the Ph.D. degree in the year of the Symposium. Up to a maximum of five finalists will be selected to compete with posters during the Surface Science poster session; these poster presentations are in addition to any different presentation they are registered for at the International Symposium. The main selection criteria include both scientific content and presentation skill. The winner will receive a cash prize of $1000 and a certificate. The winner's name will appear in the list of previous winners published yearly in the Symposium technical program and on the plaque that is on display at the Symposium. The other finalists will receive a cash award. Traum award applicants should submit 1) a copy of the abstract submitted to AVS that includes the abstract submission number; 2) an extended abstract that does not exceed two pages (including tables, figures, and references); 3) their expected graduation date, 4) two letters of recommendation, and 5) an AVS application form for student awards. Please use the online award submission site to complete your application.  
Deadline: May 2, 2018.

List of Recipients

1981 Eric Stuve 1993 Anna Swan 2005 Jan Haubrich
1982 Steven Gates 1994 Bert M. Müller 2006 Petro Maksymovych
1983 Ann Smith 1995 Frank Zimmermann 2007 Bogdan Diaconescu
1984 Hans Gossman 1996 Joseph Carpinelli 2008 Jeibin Sun
1985 Duane Outka 1997 Barry Stipe 2009 Qing Hua
1986 Greg Sitz 1998 Alexander Bogicevic 2010 Heather Tierney
1987 Michael Henderson 1999 Jongin Hahn 2011 David Siegel
1988 Jeff Hanson 2000 Anders Carlsson 2012 April Jewell
1989 Yunong (Neal) Yang 2001 Jeppe Vang Lauritsen 2013 Xiaofeng Feng
1990 Benjamin Wiegand 2002 Seth B. Darling 2014 Feng Zhang
1991 David Peale 2003 Marcel A. Wall 2015 Holly Walen
1992 Chaochin Su 2004 Emrah Ozensoy 2016 Andrew Therrien