Division/Group Professional Awards

Awards | Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division Postdoctoral Competition

Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division Postdoctoral Competition

The Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division Postdoctoral Competition brings recognition to outstanding research by postdoctoral scientists giving oral or poster presentations in NSTD sessions at AVS international symposia. Postdocs who are within five years of their PhD at the time of the 2018 National Symposium are eligible to apply, and should send a cover letter, resume, advisor support letter, and their AVS abstract to the NSTD Awards Coordinator: Sidney R. Cohen (sidney.cohen@weizmann.ac.il), in a single PDF file.  The abstract must be accepted to an NSTD sponsored or co-sponsored session requiring submission by the abstract deadline (2 May, 2018), and at least one of the co-authors on the abstract must be an AVS member at the time of submission; the AVS member co-author(s) and the symposium session should be mentioned in the cover letter.

DEADLINE: July 20, 2018
All postdoctoral award finalists will be selected by the NSTD Awards Committee, and they will be informed by Sept. 2, 2018. All finalists must present a five minute talk (with additional time for questions) at the NSTD Awards Competition, which is tentatively planned for noon on Wednesday of the symposium week. The winner will be selected based on the quality of the talk, the responses to subsequent questions, and the level of the research. The postdoc NSTD award winner will receive a certificate and a cash award of $500. Depending on the needs of the following year’s AVS Symposium, the winner will be considered for an invited talk. This award is made possible by financial support from NSTD's sponsors, who in 2017 were Heidelberg Instruments, Oxford Instruments Asylum  Research, and RHK Technology.

List of Recipients

Postdoctoral Award Winner

  • 2014 Keith Brown
  • 2017 Deep Jariwala