Roster | Marcela Bilek

Marcela Bilek

Trustee (2016-2018)
University of Sydney, Australia
School of Physics, A28, Physics Road
Sydney, 2006 Australia
Tel.: 612-935-16079

MARCELA BILEK was appointed to the Chair of Applied Physics, University of Sydney, Australia, in late 2000 at age 32, becoming the university’s first female professor in physics. She received her PhD from the University of Cambridge, UK in 1997, her BSc from the University of Sydney in 1991 and an MBA from the Rochester Institute of Technology, USA in 2000. Prior to her present appointment, she worked as a visiting Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, USA, held a visiting Professorship at the Technische Universitat Hamburg-Harburg in Germany and a Research Fellowship at Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. Her research interests focus on the use of plasma related methods to synthesise thin film materials and modify surfaces and interfaces. Over the last 10 years, she has led a large multidisciplinary team, with members from the Biomedical Sciences, Physics and Engineering, focusing on the development of biologically active surfaces. She was lead investigator on competitive grants totalling $17M and co-investigator on competitive grants totalling a further $6M, from the Australian Research Council and the National Health and Medical Research Council. She works extensively with industry partners and currently plays a leadership role in two industry commissioned projects as part of the Cooperative Research Centre for Cell Therapy Manufacturing. Marcela has over 250 articles in international refereed journals, 1 book (now in its 2nd edition), 4 book chapters and 8 patents. She has guided 18 students to successful PhD completions as primary supervisor and a further 6 as associate supervisor and mentored 15 post-docs, who now hold substantive positions in academia and industry. She has received a number of honours for her work including the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year in 2002, an ARC Federation Fellowship and an MIT TR100 Young Innovator award in 2003, the Australian Academy of Science Pawsey Medal in 2004 an Australian Innovation Challenge Award in 2011 and an ARC Future Fellowship in 2012. In 2013 she was elected to the Fellowship of the American Physical Society and in 2015 to the Fellowship of IEEE. She is currently an Editorial Board Member for the Elsevier journal Surface and Coatings Technology and an Associate Editor for the AIP Journal of Applied Physics. She has served on the Australian Radiation Protection & Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) Nuclear Safety Committee (2003-2009), the Australian Academy of Sciences National Committee for Physics (2004-2006) and the National Fusion Facility Advisory Board (2003-).