Roster


*The AVS membership and exhibitor lists are posted on this site for the personal, non-commercial use of AVS members. these lists are proprietary property of AVS and may not, in whole or part, be reproduced, copied, disseminated, entered into a computer database, used as part of or in connection with a mailing list, or otherwise utilized, in any form or manner by any means without the prior written consent of AVS.


Officers of the Society

President Peter Sheldon
President Elect Amy V. Walker
Immediate Past-President Lisa M. Porter
Clerk/Secretary Joseph E. Greene
Treasurer Gregory J. Exarhos

Directors

Director in 2019- 2020 Don Baer
Director in 2018- 2019 Anna Corrine D'ambrosio
Director in 2018- 2019 Richard T. Haasch
Director in 2018- 2019 Sean Jones
Director in 2019-2020 Sally L. McArthur
Director in 2019- 2020 Patricia A. Thiel

Awards Committee

Trustee 2019 - 2021 Alison Baski
Trustee 2018 - 2020 Anna Belu
Trustee 2018 - 2020 Timothy A. Gessert
Trustee 2017 - 2019 Angus Rockett
Trustee 2019 - 2021 Bridget R. Rogers
Trustee 2017 - 2019 Michael Stueber

AVS National Office Staff

125 Maiden Lane, 15B
15th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-248-0200
Fax: 212-248-0245

The AVS National Office (NY) relocated in September 1993, from rented space in the American Institute of Physics (AIP) building on East 45th Street in New York, New York to leased space on the 32nd floor of 120 Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. In 2007, AVS purchased space on the 15th floor of 125 Maiden Lane, just a couple of blocks from the Wall Street location. The AVS office moved into this space in July 2008. This office serves as the Society Headquarters and there are 7 full-time staff members at this location. There is a variety of services performed from this location, such as membership management, financial operations (accounts payable/receivable), and website management.

Managing Director Yvonne Towse
Exhibition & Sales Manager Jeannette DeGennaro
Financial Administrator Peter Burke
IT Systems/Web Administrator Keith Mitchell
Member Services Administrator Angela Klink
Web Content Coordinator Teddy Bhabikhan
Office Services Coordinator Ricky Baldeo

AVS West Office Staff

110 Yellowstone Drive, Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973
Tel: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487

The West Coast Office is located in Chico, California (CA). It was developed in 1999 for the purpose of developing the AVS Newsletter, short course brochures, managing the annual AVS ICMI (Spring) Conference (which began in 1999), and handling all Society publicity and marketing activities, which were responsibilities previously handled by a vendor. In addition, all event planning functions are now performed at this location.
Marketing Communications & Events Manager Della Miller
Marketing Communications & Events Coordinator Heather Korff
Marketing Communications & Events Assistant Abby Rizzo


AVS Publications Office Staff

51 Kilmayne Drive, Suite 104
Cary, NC 27511
Phone: 919-361-2728


The Publications Office is located in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina (NC). The office handles the manuscript submission and refereeing process for our journals, the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology A & B (JVST), Surface Science Spectra (SSS) and Biointerphases. There are currently 5 staff members at this location.
Publications Office Manager Nancy Schultheis
Editorial Coordinator Rachel Bayne
Editorial Assistant April Power
Editorial Assistant Jennifer Schreiner
Editorial Assistant Tonya Yandle

return to top

Standing Committees

Awards (AW) -- Angus Rockett angus_rockett  @  avs.org
Chapters, Divisions, and Groups (C,D,G) -- Vincent Smentkowski vincent_smentkowski  @  avs.org
Divisions & Groups (Co-Chair)
chip_eddy @ avs.org
Divisions & Groups (Co-Chair)
michael_filler @ avs.org
Education (ED) -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
Educational Materials and Outreach -- Svitlana Pylypenko
svitlana_pylypenko  @  avs.org
Short Courses -- Dave Adams
dave_adams  @  avs.org
History -- Marcy Stutzman
marcy_stutzman  @  avs.org
Finance (FI) -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
Audit -- Gregory J. Exarhos
greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
Investment Advisory -- Christie R.K. Marrian
christie_marrian  @  avs.org
Compensation -- Peter Sheldon
peter_sheldon @ avs.org
Governance (GV) -- Daniel Gaspar daniel_gaspar  @  avs.org
Constitution and By-laws -- Aubrey Hanbicki
aubrey_hanbicki  @  avs.org
Outreach/Governance/Public -- Susan Burkett
susan_burkett @ avs.org
International Interactions -- Gregory Parsons
gregory_parsons  @  avs.org
Special Committee for Strategic Planning -- Scott Bryan
scott_bryan @  avs.org
Marketing and Communications (MC) -- Staff Function
Web
Buyer's Guide
 
Membership (MM) David Surman dave_surman @ avs.org
Professional Leadership -- Bridget Rogers
bridget_rogers @ avs.org
            ♦AVS Excellence in Mentorship Recognition -- Nathan Havercroft  nathan_havercroft @ avs.org
            ♦Industrial Engagement -- David Surman  dave_surman @ avs.org
            ♦Diversity & Inclusion -- Talat Rahman  talat_rahman @ avs.org
Publications (PB) -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org
                               -- Chip Eddy (2019 Vice-Chair) chip_eddy @ avs.org
Recommended Practices (RP) -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
Symposia & Conferences (S&C) -- James M. Fitz-Gerald james_fitz-gerald  @  avs.org
Program Committee -- Mariadriana Creatore (2019 Chair)
mariadriana_creatore @ avs.org
-- Daniel Killelea (2019 Vice-Chair / 2020 Chair)
dan_killelea @ avs.org
Exhibitors and Manufacturers (E&M) -- Staff Function
 
Future Sites Team -- Staff Function
 
Topical Conferences -- James M. Fitz-Gerald
james_fitz-gerald  @  avs.org
 ALD/ALE 2019 -- Sumit Agarwal (ALD Chair) 
               -- Dennis Hausmann (ALD Co-Chair)
                            -- Craig Huffman (ALE Chair)
               -- Gottlieb Oehrlein (ALE Co-Chair)
sumit_agarwal @ avs.org
dennis_hausmann  @  avs.org
craig_huffman @ avs.org

gottlieb_oehrlein  @  avs.org
return to top

Division Chairs

Advanced Surface Engineering Division -- David P. Adams david_adams @ avs.org
Applied Surface Science Division -- Karen Gaskell karen_gaskell @ avs.org
Biomaterial Interfaces Division -- Caitlin Howell caitlin_howell @ avs.org
Electronic Materials and Photonics Division -- Rachael Myers-Ward rachael_myers-ward @ avs.org
Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division -- Valeria Lauter valeria_lauter @avs.org
Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Plasma Science and Technology Division -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
Surface Science Division -- Charles Sykes charles_sykes @ avs.org
Thin Film Division -- Paul Poodt paul_poodt @ avs.org
Vacuum Technology Division -- Jacob Ricker jacob_ricker @ avs.org



return to top


Group Chairs

Manufacturing Science and Technology Group -- Bridget R. Rogers bridget_rogers @ avs.org
MEMS and NEMS Technical Group -- Christian Zorman christian_zorman @ avs.org



return to top


Chapter Chairs

Delaware Valley Chapter (12/31/19) -- Patrick E. Morris pat_morris @ avs.org
Florida Chapter (3/31/20) -- Mihai Vaida mihai_vaida @ avs.org
Hudson Mohawk Chapter (12/31/19) -- J. Scott Price jscott_price @ avs.org
Michigan Chapter (9/01/19) -- Pilar Herrera-Fierro (contact) pilar_herrera-fierrol @ avs.org
Mid-Atlantic States Chapter (12/31/19) -- Jacob Ricker jacob_ricker @ avs.org
Minnesota Chapter (12/31/19) -- Sachin Attava sachin_attavar @ avs.org
New England Chapter (12/31/19) -- Bill Trotter, Jr. bill_trotter @ avs.org
New Mexico Chapter (12/31/19) -- Carter Hodges carter_hodges @ avs.org 
Northern California Chapter (12/31/19) -- Paul Werbaneth paul_werbaneth @ avs.org
Ohio Chapter (12/31/19) -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
Pacific Northwest Chapter (12/31/19) -- David Y. Lee david_lee @ avs.org
Prairie Chapter (12/31/19) -- Dan Killelea dan_killelea @ avs.org
Rocky Mountain Chapter (12/31/19) -- Andrew S. Cavanagh  andrew_cavanagh @ avs.org
Southern California Chapter (12/31/19) -- Anna Corinne D'Ambrosio corinne_dambrosio @ avs.org
Tennessee Valley Chapter (12/31/19) -- Petro Maksymovych petro_maksymovych @ avs.org
Texas Chapter (12/31/19) -- Jeffry Kelber jeffry_kelber @ avs.org
Western Pennsylvania Chapter (12/31/19) -- Joe DeMaio joe_demaio @ avs.org


return to top


International Chapter

Taiwan AVS -- Jinn P. Chu jinn_chu @ avs.org
St. Lawrence AVS -- Ludvik Martinu ludvik_martinu @ avs.org


return to top


International Affiliate

Cuban Physical Society -- María Sánchez Colina maria_sanchez-colina @ avs.org
Israel Vacuum Society -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Korean Vacuum Society -- Guen Young Yeom geun_yeom @ avs.org
Polish Vacuum Society -- Leszek Markowski leszek_markowski @ avs.org
Sociedad Mexicana de Ciencia y Terconlogía de Superficies y Materiales -- Gregorio Hernandez-Cocoletzi  gregorio_hernandez-cocoletzi @ avs.org
Sociedade Brasileira de Vácuo - Pedro A Nascente pedro_nascente @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of the Philippines -- Magdaleno R. Vasquez Jr.  magdaleno_vasquez @ avs.org

return to top


Student University Chapter Chairs

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering -- Jonathan Chandonait jonathan_chandonait @ avs.org
Colorado School of Mines -- Sarah Zaccarine sarah_zaccarine @ avs.org
Dallas Metroplex -- Tania Estrada tania_estrada @ avs.org
Northwestern University -- James Male james_male @ avs.org
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (inactive)  
Southwest -- Carmen A. Velasco carmen_velasco @ avs.org
UCLA -- Grant Hushek grant_hushek @ avs.org
University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa -- Sourav Garg sourav_garg @ avs.org
University of Central Florida (inactive)  
University of Florida -- Stefano Barba stefano_barba @ avs.org
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- Shannon Murray shannon_murray @ avs.org
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities -- Beth Dewing beth_dewing @ avs.org
University of Texas at El Paso -- Sandeep Manandhar sandeep_manandhar @avs.org
University of Washington (inactive)  

return to top


IUVSTA Appointees

Councilor -- Joseph E. Greene joe_greene @ avs.org
Alternate Councilor -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos @ avs.org
ASED Representative -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org
ASSD Representative -- John T. Grant john_grant @ avs.org
BID Representative -- Lara Gamble lara_gamble @ avs.org
EMPD Representative -- Lisa M. Porter lisa_porter @ avs.org
NSTD Representative -- Nancy A. Burnham nancy_burnham @ avs.org
PSTD Representative -- Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
SSD Representative -- Greg Kimmel greg_kimmel @avs.org
TFD Representative -- Joe Greene joe_greene @ avs.org
VTD Representative -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org

return to top


Journal Editors

AVS Editor-in-Chief -- Eray Aydil eray_aydil @ avs.org
Biointerphases Editor -- Sally L. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Tobias Weidner tobias_weidner @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Stefan Zauscher  stefan_zauscher @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Gary E. McGuire gary_mcguire @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Colin Wolden colin_wolden @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Erwin Kessels erwin_kessels @avs.org
SSS Senior Editor -- James Castle james_castle @ avs.org
SSS Editor -- Richard T. Haasch richard_haasch @ avs.org

return to top


AVS Designated Director on the AIP Board of Directors

Susan Burkett Term to Spring 2022 susan_burkett @ avs.org

return to top


AVS MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE TO AIP:

Alison A. Baski alison_baski @ avs.org

return to top


AIP Special Committees (External)

Liaison Committee on Under-Represented Minorities -  Talat Rahman - '20 talat_rahman @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Physics Education - Tom Christensen - '19 tom_christensen @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Public Policy – Daniel Gaspar – ‘20 daniel_gaspar @avs.org
Liaison Committee on History – Marcy Stutzman – ‘20 marcy_stutzman @avs.org
Publishing Board of Managers – Ivan G. Petrov* – ‘19 ivan_petrov @ avs.org
Publishing Partnerships Committee – Nancy Schultheis, Yvonne Towse – ‘19 nancy@avs.org
yvonne@avs.org
State Department Selection Committee – Rudy Ludeke – ‘21 rudy_ludeke @ avs.org

return to top