Roster


*The AVS membership and exhibitor lists are posted on this site for the personal, non-commercial use of AVS members. these lists are proprietary property of AVS and may not, in whole or part, be reproduced, copied, disseminated, entered into a computer database, used as part of or in connection with a mailing list, or otherwise utilized, in any form or manner by any means without the prior written consent of AVS.


Officers of the Society

President Charles R. "Chip" Eddy, Jr.
President Elect Lisa Porter
Immediate Past-President David Surman
Clerk/Secretary Joseph E. Greene
Treasurer Gregory J. Exarhos

Directors

Director in 2016- 2017 Ellen Fisher
Director in 2017- 2018 Lara Gamble
Director in 2017- 2018 Jay Hendricks
Director in 2017- 2018 Eric Joseph
Director in 2016 - 2017 Anthony Muscat
Director in 2016 - 2017 Peter Sheldon

Awards Committee

Trustee 2015 - 2017 Donald Baer
Trustee 2016 - 2018 Marcela Bilek
Trustee 2015 - 2017 Ian S. Gilmore
Trustee 2017 - 2019 Angus Rockett
Trustee 2017 - 2019 Michael Stueber
Trustee 2016 - 2018 Amy V. Walker

AVS National Office Staff

125 Maiden Lane, 15th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-248-0200
Fax: 212-248-0245

The AVS National Office (NY) relocated in September 1993, from rented space in the American Institute of Physics (AIP) building on East 45th Street in New York, New York to leased space on the 32nd floor of 120 Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. In 2007, AVS purchased space on the 15th floor of 125 Maiden Lane, just a couple of blocks from the Wall Street location. The AVS office moved into this space in July 2008. This office serves as the Society Headquarters and there are 7 full-time staff members at this location. There is a variety of services performed from this location, such as membership management, financial operations (accounts payable/receivable), and website management.

Managing Director Yvonne Towse
Exhibition & Sales Manager Jeannette DeGennaro
Financial Administrator Peter Burke
IT Systems/Web Administrator Keith Mitchell
Member Services Administrator Angela Klink
Web Content Coordinator Teddy Bhabikhan
Office Services Coordinator Ricky Baldeo

AVS West Office Staff

110 Yellowstone Drive, Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973
Tel: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487

The West Coast Office is located in Chico, California (CA). It was developed in 1999 for the purpose of developing the AVS Newsletter, short course brochures, managing the annual AVS ICMI (Spring) Conference (which began in 1999), and handling all Society publicity and marketing activities, which were responsibilities previously handled by a vendor. In addition, all event planning functions are now performed at this location.
Marketing Communications and Event Manager Della Miller
Events/Office Coordinator Heather Kroff


AVS Publications Office Staff

51 Kilmayne Drive, Suite 104
Cary, NC 27511
Phone: 919-361-2728


The Publications Office is located in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina (NC). The office handles the manuscript submission and refereeing process for our journals, the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology A & B (JVST), Surface Science Spectra (SSS) and Biointerphases. There are currently 5 staff members at this location.
Publications Office Manager Nancy Schultheis
Editorial Assistant April Power
Editorial Assistant Jennifer Schreiner
Editorial Assistant Estella Stansbury
Editorial Assistant Tonya Yandle

return to top

Standing Committees

Awards (AW) -- Don Baer don_baer  @  avs.org
Chapters, Divisions, and Groups (C,D,G) -- Vincent Smentkowski vincent_smentkowski  @  avs.org
Education (ED) -- Timothy A. Gessert tim_gessert  @  avs.org
Educational Materials and Outreach -- Tom Christensen
tom_christensen  @  avs.org
Short Courses -- Dave Adams
dave_adams  @  avs.org
History -- Marcy Stutzman
marcy_stutzman  @  avs.org
Archivist -- William D. Westwood
bill_westwood @ avs.org
Diversity & Inclusion -- Anthony Muscat
anthony_muscat @avs.org
Finance (FI) -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
Audit -- Gregory J. Exarhos
greg_exarhos  @  avs.org
Investment Advisory -- Christie R.K. Marrian
christie_marrian  @  avs.org
Compensation -- Charles R. "Chip" Eddy, Jr.
chip_eddy  @  avs.org
Governance (GV) -- Daniel Gaspar daniel_gaspar  @  avs.org
Constitution and By-laws -- Aubrey Hanbicki
aubrey_hanbicki  @  avs.org
Outreach/Governance/Public -- Rudolf Ludeke
rudy_ludeke  @  avs.org
International Interactions -- Lisa Porter
lisa_porter  @  avs.org
Strategic Plan -- Scott Bryan
scott_bryan @  avs.org
Marketing and Communications (MC) -- Staff Function
Web
Buyer's Guide
 
Membership (MM) David Surman david_surman  @  avs.org
Professional Leadership -- Susan Burkett
susan_burkett  @  avs.org
Publications (PB) -- Gregory Parsons gregory_parsons  @  avs.org
Recommended Practices (RP) -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org
Symposia & Conferences (S&C) -- James Fitz-Gerald james_fitz-gerald  @  avs.org
Program Committee -- Amy V. Walker (2017 Chair)
amy_walker  @  avs.org
        -- Eric Joseph (2017 Vice Chair / '18 Chair)
eric_joseph @  avs.org
Exhibitors and Manufacturers (E&M) -- Staff Function
 
Topical Conferences -- James Fitz-Gerald
james_fitz-gerald  @  avs.org
 PacSurf -- David G. Castner (General Chair) 
                 -- Charles R. "Chip" Eddy, Jr. (Program Chair)
dave_castner @ avs.org
chip_eddy  @  avs.org
return to top

Division Chairs

Advanced Surface Engineering Division -- Andrey Voevodim andrey_voevodin @ avs.org
Applied Surface Science Division -- Michaeleen Pacholski michaeleen_pacholski @ avs.org
Biomaterial Interfaces Division -- Joe Baio joe_baio @ avs.org
Electronic Materials and Photonics Division -- Nikolaus Dietz nikolaus_dietz @ avs.org
Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division -- Valeria Lauter valeria_lauter @avs.org
Nanometer-Scale Science and Technology Division -- Robert Ilic robert_Ilic @ avs.org
Plasma Science and Technology Division -- Steven Vitale steven_vitale @ avs.org
Surface Science Division -- Bruce Kay bruce_kay @ avs.org
Thin Film Division -- Mariadriana Creatore mariadriana_creatore @ avs.org
Vacuum Technology Division -- Gerado Brucker gerardo_brucker @ avs.org



return to top


Group Chairs

Manufacturing Science and Technology Group -- Bridget R. Rogers bridget_rogers @ avs.org
MEMS and NEMS Technical Group -- Christian Zorman christian_zorman @ avs.org



return to top


Chapter Chairs

Delaware Valley Chapter (12/31/17) -- Patrick E. Morris (contact) pat_morris @ avs.org
Florida Chapter (3/31/16) -- Laurene Tetard laurene_tetard @ avs.org
Hudson Mohawk Chapter (12/31/17) -- Michael Burrell michael_burrell @ avs.org
Michigan Chapter (9/01/17) -- Pilar Herrera-Fierro pilar_herrera-fierrol @ avs.org
Mid-Atlantic States Chapter (1/15/17) -- Jacob Ricker jacob_ricker @ avs.org
Minnesota Chapter (12/31/17) -- Jeffrey Fenton jeffrey_fenton @ avs.org
New England Chapter (12/31/17) -- Bill Trotter, Jr. bill_trotter @ avs.org
New Mexico Chapter (6/01/17) --Kateryna Artyushkova kateryna_artyushkova @ avs.org 
Northern California Chapter (12/31/17) -- Susan Felch susan_Felch @ avs.org
Ohio Chapter (12/31/17) -- Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
Pacific Northwest Chapter (12/31/17) -- Liney Arnadottir liney_arnadottir @ avs.org
Prairie Chapter (12/31/17) -- David Czaplewski david_czaplewski @ avs.org
Rocky Mountain Chapter (12/31/17) -- Svitlana Pylypenko  svitlana_pylypenko @ avs.org
Southern California Chapter (12/31/17) -- Anna Corinne D'Ambrosio corinne_dambrosio @ avs.org
Tennessee Valley Chapter (06/01/17) -- Harry Meyer (contact) harry_meyer @ avs.org
Texas Chapter (12/31/16) -- Ramana Chintalapalle ramana_chintalapalle @ avs.org
Western Pennsylvania Chapter (12/31/17) -- Chris Horwitz chris_horwitz @ avs.org


return to top


International Chapter

Taiwan AVS -- Jiann-Shiun Kao jiann-shiun_kao @ avs.org
St. Lawrence AVS -- Ludvik Martinu ludvik_martinu @ avs.org


return to top


International Affiliate

Israel Vacuum Society -- Sidney Cohen sidney_cohen @ avs.org
Korean Vacuum Society -- Guen Young Yeom geun_yeom @ avs.org
Polish Vacuum Society -- Leszek Markowski leszek_markowski @ avs.org
Sociedade Brasileira de Vácuo - Pedro A Nascente pedro_nascente @ avs.org
Vacuum Society of the Philippines - Magdaleno R. Vasquez Jr. magdaleno_vasquez @ avs.org

return to top


Student University Chapter Chairs

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering -- Aleksandr Filippov aleksandr_filippov @ avs.org
Colorado School of Mines michael_dzara @ avs.org
Dallas Metroplex -- Audrey Hammack (Co-Chair) audrey_hammack @ avs.org
Dallas Metroplex -- Aaron Dangerfield (Co-Chair) aaron_dangerfield @ avs.or
Northwestern University -- Spencer Wells spencer_wells @ avs.org
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute-- Thomas Cardinal thomas_cardinal  @ avs.org
Silicon Valley -- Rachel Major rachel_major @ avs.org
UCLA -- Dian Yu dian_yu @ avs.org
University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa -- Connor Smith connor_smith @ avs.org
University of Central Florida -- Joshua Perlstein joshua_perlstein @ avs.org
University of Florida -- Darken Starkenburg darken_starkenburg @ avs.org
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- Pralav Shetty pralav_shetty @ avs.org
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities -- Karsten Poulsen Karsten_poulsen @ avs.org
University of Washington -- Elisa Harrison elisa_harrison @ avs.org

return to top


IUVSTA Appointees

Councilor -- Joseph E. Greene joe_greene @ avs.org
Alternate Councilor -- Gregory J. Exarhos greg_exarhos @ avs.org
ASED Representative -- Ivan G. Petrov ivan_petrov @ avs.org
ASSD Representative -- John T. Grant john_grant @ avs.org
BID Representative -- Lara Gamble lara_gamble @ avs.org
EMPD Representative -- Lisa Porter lisa_porter @ avs.org
NSTD Representative -- Nancy A. Burnham nancy_burnham @ avs.org
PSTD Representative -- Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
SSD Representative -- Greg Kimmel greg_kimmel @avs.org
TFD Representative -- Nathan Guisinger nathan_guisinger @ avs.org
VTD Representative -- Jay Hendricks jay_hendricks @ avs.org

return to top


Journal Editors

AVS Editor-in-Chief -- Eray Aydil eray_aydil @ avs.org
Biointerphases Editor-- Anna Belu anna_belu @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Katharina Maniura Katharina_maniura @ avs.org
Biointerphases Associate Editor -- Sally L. McArthur sally_mcarthur @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Gary E. McGuire gary_mcguire @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- R. Mohan Sankaran mohan_sankaran @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Colin Wolden colin_wolden @ avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Erwin Kessels erwin_kessels @avs.org
JVST Associate Editor -- Deborah O'Connell deborah_oconnell @avs.org
SSS Senior Editor -- James Castle james_castle @ avs.org
SSS Editor -- Richard T. Haasch richard_haasch @ avs.org

return to top


AVS Designated Director on the AIP Board of Directors

Rudolf Ludeke Term to Spring 2019 rudolf_ludeke @ avs.org

return to top


AVS MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE TO AIP:

Alison A. Baski alison_baski @ avs.org

return to top


AIP Special Committees (External)

Liaison Committee on Under-Represented Minorities -  Daphne Pappas - '17 daphne _pappas @ avs.org
Liaison Committee on Physics Education - Tom Christensen - '17 tom_christensen @ avs.org
Liaison Committee of Society Treasurers - Gregory J. Exarhos* (statutory) greg_exarhos @ avs.org
Publishing Board of Managers – Ivan G. Petrov – ‘19 ivan_petrov @ avs.org
Publishing Partnerships Committee – Nancy Schultheis, Yvonne Towse – ‘17 nancy@avs.org
yvonne@avs.org

return to top